Quinoa Vegetable Muffins

14 Feb

Thanks for all the awesome tips about weight lifting ! Im loving doing it so far.  I obv try to look like Mrs. America when I go to the gymImage

I got a good amount of emails about my quinoa muffins, I’m so excited to share it with you I have made them 3x already! Perfect to bring to for school :-)

Image

Quinoa Vegetable Muffins
2 cups cooked quinoa
1 cup egg Whites
2 Whole eggs
2 cups chopped vegetables*
1/2 cup nutritional yeast*

1 tbs soy suace
1 clove of garlic, minced
salt/pepper (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Whisk the eggs and egg whites in a bowl.  Stir in veggies, nutritional yeast, soy sauce and quinoa. Scoop mixture into oiled muffin tins.  Bake for 40 minutes. Makes 12-20 regular sized muffins.

*Vegetables I have used so far:
1/2c onion, 1/2c pepper and 1 cup spinach.
1/2c onion, 1/4c zucchini, 1/4c pepper, 1 cup kale
just make sure they are chopped very small!

*If you want to substitute vegan or regular cheese for the nutritional yeast you can, tastes just as good!

Image

On another note, as today being Valentines Day, I was suppose to go out with a friend but we went out for sushi last night instead.  I came home to this on my car

Image

So cute, too bad I don’t know who it is from ! Like the coffee thing, I just don’t get it.  I said it was my parents but they would tell me by now lol I apparently have a valentine, score. I think.

Right now I am sitting my butt on the couch stuffed from the lobster my dad bought me for vday :-)! It was my first time having it and I enjoyed it, would never order it at a restaurant I was eating that thing like an animal.

What Makes Me Happy: My show survivor is back on! ekkkkkk. I have to go on that show, I know I have said it before.  I really gotta look into how to get on it. I’d kill it !  Orrrrrr i’d sit in the corner and cry if people talked about me.

Are you a survivor fan?

Whats your favorite way to eat quinoa? I really need to get some new ways !

47 Responses to “Quinoa Vegetable Muffins”

  1. Kerry @ Totes My Oats February 15, 2013 at 12:52 am #

    Ahhh I can’t believe you anonymously received something else! Crazy stuff!

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 12:24 am #

      Lol right !!! It would be cute if they actually told me who it was in the end

  2. Nicola Madore February 15, 2013 at 1:32 am #

    Yum those quinoa muffins look awesome!

  3. quartercenturysouthernliving February 15, 2013 at 1:34 am #

    Ah, you have a Valentine! How cute is that!?

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 12:25 am #

      I nooo it really was cute ! Better find out who !

  4. Amanda @ .running with spoons. February 15, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    Aww! That’s the sweetest surprise ever! I wonder who your secret admirer is… Be sure to tell us who it is when you find out :D And those muffins look delicious and seriously make me want to try out whipping up a batch of savory muffins for myself. I have to admit that I’m not really the biggest fan of eating quinoa straight up, so maybe it would be easier in muffin form :)

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 12:26 am #

      I no it really was cute ! I nooo I like quinoa but I think I sorta make myself like it plain.. These will def change ur mind there so gooddd

  5. Alex @ therunwithin February 15, 2013 at 1:48 am #

    my aunt is so into survivor, we helped her make a video to try and get on. sadly she didn’t make it haha

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 12:23 am #

      Lol oh mannnnn ! Ok so I gotta make a video, def gotta get on that lol

  6. Court Star @ StarSystemz February 15, 2013 at 2:15 am #

    I love your quinoa muffins and can’t wait to try them out next week! Since I am unable to chew to well, I will have to wait but I love that you can add a variety of different vegetables and not use the same ones each and every time. Happy Valentines Day! I see you have a secret admirer ;))) LOVE IT! Love + Shine CourtStar

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 12:27 am #

      I no I haven’t found a combo of veggies I haven’t liked yet! Good to change it up n use u what I have! Thank youuuu I no it was cute, I hope u hada good vdayyy!

  7. Luv What You Do February 15, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    This is a much healthier meal than I had today/tonight! These look fantastic and right up my alley. I can’t wait to try them. As for quinoa…one of my faves for leftovers are these microwave breakfast cakes. I’ve done a few different flavors!

    http://luvwhatyoudo.net/2012/03/04/morning/

    • kaityscooking February 18, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

      ohh wowow i def have to try that recipe for the breakfast cakes ! they look so good and easy, thank you!

      • Luv What You Do February 18, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

        You are welcome! You can even make them the night before and then heat in the morning. It is one of my fave breakfasts!

  8. Natalie February 15, 2013 at 3:37 am #

    Such neat muffins! I am always looking for new ways to use quinoa! Happy VDAY!

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 12:28 am #

      I nooo It sucha a good way to use quinoa i get bored of it plain quick !

  9. eclecticlamb February 15, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

    Thanks for the recipe!

  10. Carley @OptimisticHealth February 15, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    You crack me up! I eat seafood like I’ve never ate before too :)

    Those muffins are brilliant. Veggies and quinoa that can be taken on the go?! Heck yes!

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      I nooo the muffins are so fillings too its awesome, win win! hahah right! i was digging into that lobster like there was no tomorrow, scary scene.

  11. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 15, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    These sound so good AND super easy to make (a major plus!). I imagine that these would make the perfect breakfast or snack. Thanks for sharing :).

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 12:29 am #

      They do ! I bring 2-3 to school to eat throughout the day, best thingggg

  12. Amy Tong February 15, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

    Oh your muffins look yummy and healthy. Can’t wait to try it. Wow, those flowers are lovely. :) How cute they just left it there without a note. :) I love lobster too. How nice your Daddy prepare it for you on V-day! That’s love! Have a wonderful weekend!

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 11:46 am #

      thank you ! they are.. and i no they were soooo cute im annoyed noone came forward! Haha i nooo my dads a keeper for sure ;-)! lobster is def good ! cant wait to have it again, have a good weekend!

  13. Brittany February 15, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

    Your license plate is amazing..HAHA! HOW EXCITING that you have a secret valentine. As long as it’s not a creepo from your gym!!

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 12:30 am #

      Hahah thank you I no the gym boys came first to my mind too lol

  14. jessiebear February 16, 2013 at 12:22 am #

    aw cute! I wonder who your valentine is!

  15. Rach @ This Italian Family February 16, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    Oooh congrats on your secret Valentine! :)

  16. Brittany @ DulceVie February 17, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

    these look super delish! Congrats on the secret valentine!

  17. Lauren February 17, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    I have never tried quinoa – but I think I might try it in these muffins :)

    • kaityscooking February 18, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

      ahh its so good ! i was so creeped out from it at first but you will love it !

  18. Jen @ Existential Evolution February 17, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

    Those muffins look spectacular! So easy to make and wholesome ingredients! This just once again proves that on-the-go food doesn’t have to be unhealthy!

    • kaityscooking February 18, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

      thank you jen ! I know it really is great i love on the go foods that are healthy !

  19. princessmaddysun February 18, 2013 at 4:31 am #

    Those muffins look delicious and easy to make! Welcome to the world of loving lobster! It’s amazing and one of my favorite treats. Plus, it’s so good for you!

    • kaityscooking February 18, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

      thank you they are! and i nooo i am not gonna be a cheap date anymore when i go out to dinner, def hitting up the seafood side of the menu!

  20. aftertheivyleague February 18, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

    These savory muffins look delicious! I’ve never baked another savory before like it, I need to give it a try. And random flowers from an admiring stranger?! Your life is a movie! haha

    • kaityscooking February 18, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

      yesss me niether i usually avoid savory recipes like this but this ones too good to pass up ! hahha i nooo i sort of found out who it is though, atleast i think !

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. busy doing nothing « kaitys cooking - February 19, 2013

    […] This guy is SOO shy and I am the total opposite.  I hope he enjoys talking about microbiology and quinoa muffins because that’s my life […]

  2. Cheers to Health + Girlfriends | Star Systemz - February 25, 2013

    […] over at Kaity’s Cooking posted a recipe I just had to bake. As you may know, I am obsessed with baking in my muffin tins, […]

  3. Monday Shmonday | kaitys cooking - February 25, 2013

    […] just made some quinoa muffins for school for the week, love these things.  Duke isn’t a begging kind of a dog at […]

  4. Hump Day | kaitys cooking - February 28, 2013

    […] quinoa muffins x 4, can’t get enough of these bad boys. […]

  5. Savor the Flavor Sunday | Jessie Bear, What Will You Wear? - March 3, 2013

    […] 10) Kaity’s quinoa veggie muffins […]

  6. Snow Dayyyy | Jessie Bear, What Will You Wear? - March 6, 2013

    […] Kaity’s quinoa veggie muffins […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

