Vegan Poptarts for being MIA

8 Mar

Hey Everyone, sorry for the week off, I been so busy with school. 20 page paper then having to read it outloud, no bueno! Especially I am a tad incoherent when it comes to pronouncing stuff, seriously I have my own language it’s sad.

   

Thank you all for the awesome emails and comments about the last post, you guys really are the best!

I always got a few emails about A. Well, I did get a few drinks in him and he opened up.  Not much though, even though I was willing to even go bowling for this guy.  Comon you know that awkward walk to throw the bowling ball, or when you are doing the walk so is the person in the lane next to you so you stand there dumb. Yeah don’t like that, but I was willing to if he came to the bar with me too haha.  But that awkward “soooooo” was still there after 2 minutes of silence and i was just not feeling it. Oh well off to the next one ;-)

Onto food, I woke up with a slight hangover last weekend and I usually just want a egg sandwich.  But no, all I could think of was poptarts! I made it a mission to make them! I failed 2x but then this batch came out strong and I may have made them 3x since this batch.  Sorry I’m not sorry.

Image

Vegan Poptarts (adapted from these)
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour (can use ww again but just different texture)
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup coconut oil (butter will work)
5 tbs maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
1-2 tbs water
1/4 cup jam (i used raspberry and strawberry)
1 cup powdered sugar
2 tbs melted coconut oil
Image
Combine in a food processor or blender the flours, baking powder, and coconut oil.  Once mixed add in the syrup, vanilla, and start with 1 tbs of water until it is starting to stick together enough like a dough.  Divide dough into two and transfer onto 2 sheets of plastic wrap and smush them into rectangles and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes.  After it’s done, preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Removed dough from the plastic on a lightly floured surface, roll it out and cut it into eight sections. Do again with the other rectangle of dough. Place 1.5 tsp of jam on 8 of the rectangles then top with the other piece of dough.  Pinch down the sides (i went around with a fork too).  Transfer to cookie sheet and bake for 17-19 minutes until golden. Cool completely.  Once cooled if you want icing, melt the coconut oil and mix well with the powdered sugar.  I added some strawberry juice to get it a pink shade then frost over the poptarts.  Eat ! yummm. Makes 8 poptarts

Image

 kid and friend approved, thats a plus/surprise!

I am off to the gym in this gross snow, final day of livefit week 2! love it. Tomorrow I am playing hookey from work and going to the St.Patty’s Day parade in Bayshore (anyone in area come !) with my brothers and sister.  Get this I am just talking to 3 guys at the same time, TALKING, and invited them all thinking they wouldn’t come and right now all 3 are. hahaha this should be interesting.

What was your favorite kind of poptart growing up?

What are you doing this weekend? Any parades?

29 Responses to “Vegan Poptarts for being MIA”

  1. Erin March 8, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    Haha nice, keeping your options open!
    And OMG I must make these, I love pop tarts but refuse to eat them with all the crap that’s in them but this looks awesome. I bet my little dude would love these as well!

    • kaityscooking March 13, 2013 at 12:14 am #

      i nooo! those little poptarts have the longest list of ingredients its crazy.. def kid friendly my nieces and nephew loved them!

  2. Alex @ therunwithin March 8, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    those look professional girl, way to go!

  3. jessiebearwhat March 8, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    sweet jaysus I need to make this..

  4. alexanderwillowharvey March 8, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    I made vegan pop tarts and im posting them tomorrow, yours look lovely (and neater than mine!) Great minds think alike! :D

    • kaityscooking March 13, 2013 at 12:17 am #

      haha that is too funny!! yours look so good, i def gotta try blueberry !

  5. Natalie March 8, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    I miss poptarts! I ate them so much as a kid but now I can make grown up vegan ones, yay thanks!

    • kaityscooking March 13, 2013 at 12:18 am #

      np! i know i use to live off them and then avoided them for so longgg!

  6. blonde hair blue eyed runner March 8, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    Those look so delicious. I think my son would like them too, I’m gonna have to try them. I have 3 baby showers tomorrow, I know crazy right? But that’s what my weekend looks like=)

    • kaityscooking March 13, 2013 at 12:19 am #

      girlll i had one baby shower this weekend and it wiped me out ! thank you, your son would prob love them my nieces went crazy.. and they are so picky

  7. Courtney @ Star Systemz March 9, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    Omg pop tarts! I am so making these this weekend! My mom used to toast chocolate ones for me all the time :-). Hope you have a great weekend love + shine Courtstar

    • kaityscooking March 13, 2013 at 12:20 am #

      oooooooooooomg the chocolate ones! i forgot about those, and the smores ones! thank you for reminding me i have to try some new flavors now ! haha

  8. Jackie Johnson March 9, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    this just made my night. Firstly: Poptarts aren’t sold in Amsterdam, and for the best! Secondly: They are awful…full of the nastiness…but taste so delicious. Can’t wait to make these and soak in the breakfast nostalgia.

    • kaityscooking March 13, 2013 at 12:23 am #

      hahah im so happy ! i cant wait to you make them… i know it is crazy how much junk got into those oh so amazing treats.. no wonder i was on a sugar high for hours are id eat them as a kid lol

  9. cleaneatingveggiegirl March 11, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    I just absolutely love the entire idea of these PopTarts and I LOVE that they are vegan. So cool! Plus, they are super cute! :)

  10. Brittany @ DulceVie March 11, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    Those looks soooo good! I miss eating poptarts!

    • kaityscooking March 13, 2013 at 12:27 am #

      thank you and i know right i use to be addicted to them ! could eat the entire box easily ;-)

  11. houdekj March 11, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    Whoa I am impressed by those pop tarts! Way to go! And they’re pretty too!

  12. moderngirlnutrition March 12, 2013 at 1:22 am #

    I saw these on Jessie’s shoutout and had to come check them out! So creative :)

    • kaityscooking March 13, 2013 at 12:28 am #

      thank you ! i knoew jessies sundays are the best

  13. aftertheivyleague March 12, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

    Omg these poptarts look SO freaking good! Strawberry poptarts were my favoriteee growing up. I think I need to make these or buy them sometime soon now that I’ve been reminded of how delicious they are! And three guys showing up to see you at the same parade, can’t wait to see how that pans out! I’ll be heading to a parade this weekend to celebrate too!

    • kaityscooking March 13, 2013 at 12:30 am #

      thanks ! i knowww strawberry was the best.. and chocolate, oh the chocolate ones.. dont know how i went so long without them.. hahha it was funny but went well! hope you had fun at your parade, was perfect weather for it !

  14. consciouscravings March 12, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    Poptarts are one of the greatest fatty foods to exist. I am definitely going to try these out because they look so delicious!

    • kaityscooking March 13, 2013 at 12:31 am #

      they really are the besttt! good i hope you enjoy them !

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Savor the Flavor Sunday | Jessie Bear, What Will You Wear? - March 10, 2013

    […] 1) Kaity’s Poptarts […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

