Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

19 Nov

Hey all, hope everyone enjoyed their weekend! my legs are buring from 300 squats today and yesterday! i try to do 150 before breakfast and 150 after dinner, but today i got them all done already, i only got through the interval challenge 2x though

if you have been reading any blogs for awhile you notice once the leaves outside start to change color it is automatically pumpkin season and any pumpkin recipe is then popping up.  its my favorite time and though for the blogsphere pumpkin is coming to an end as anything peppermint (another fav) starts to enter in, pumpkin is still in full action at my house.. i actually think year round it probably is lol starting the day with oatmeal is the best to me and its this recipe feels like im eating comfort food its awesome!

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal
1/2 cup oats
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1-2 tsp pumpkin spice
2-3 tsp cinnamon (i dont really measure but id say its about that, i like alot)
1/2 cup almond milk
1 cup water
2 tbs pecans (optional)

Add all the ingredients but the nuts together and cook according to the directions. Top with pecans.

*I’ll cook over the stove sometimes and some days im feeling 4 minutes on high in the microwave, depends how late i wake up ;-)!

pumpkin oatmeal

This is the picture of the basic oatmeal (without the nuts today, i was all out) but the toppings are endless! Most days i add nuts, shredded coconut and a little molasses and it takes like im eating pumpkin pie its great.  Other times have a few spoonfuls of coconut whipped cream when i have it made, some raisins, bananas/apples, nut butters, sometimes all of alittle of it all too:-)! .. Or my favorite, i put a spoonful of pumpkin butter which takes it to a whole other level!
Image

Whats your favorite kind of oatmeal?

7 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal”

  1. Devon @ Health in Equilibrium November 19, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    Yum! I can’t live without my oatmeal in the morning! Pumpkin pie oats are some of my favourite, but I also make carrot cake oats, apple pie oats and chocolate monkey oats. I’ll be posting recipes soon! Thanks for commenting on my blog by the way! It’s so nice to have support when you’re just starting 🙂

  2. Jen @ Existential Evolution November 19, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Yum! I have leftover oatmeal and pumpkin puree to use up ASAP…I know what I’m making tonight! Thanks!

  3. moderngirlnutrition February 8, 2013 at 2:01 am #

    I made this and it is SO good! THanks for the recipe Kaity!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I ate Wednesday « kaitys cooking - January 23, 2013

    […] favorite, pumpkin oatmeal […]

  2. Oats n’ Movies | Jessie Bear, What Will You Wear? - January 25, 2013

    […] Anyway, I decided that I needed something warm and soothing today (there’s snow everywhere), so I made this pumpkin pie oatmeal recipe from Kaity’s Cooking […]

  3. Wednesday- Spring Breaking it up | kaitys cooking - March 27, 2013

    […] the usual pumpkin oatmeal with an egg white, the best.  With some cawfeeeee on the […]

Leave a Reply

