Vegan Peanut Butter Pie

23 Nov

ahh thanksgiving how i already miss you! Im happy to say i succeeded in enjoying it and the aftermath of it.  I ate like every other person does on thanksgiving but didn’t go alll out beast mode like i usually would, I enjoyed a small slice of each of my pies and didn’t just think about my next meals and how they will only be salads for the next few days, no i enjoyed it i indulged and i didnt go into binge mode after of the next day which is a huge step and prob wouldnt have done it without all the awesome comments and messages ive gotten!  I went shopping at 10 after thanksgiving dinner  and there werent any great sales but some good ones i didnt have a good plan this year so i just sort of winged it but im 90% done i just got my parents left which i seem to pick them up stuff all month long because god forbid they tell me a list of what they want to make anyones life alittle easier, is it just my parents who do this? lol. i finally went to sleep at 4pm today after shopping all night and day and woke up a few hours later and cant fall back asleep, looking forward to work tomorrow.  The 5k went good it was so gorgeous out and its right by the water so your passing all the nice houses the whole time so its nice.  I just cant stand 5ks like this because you never get your stride because there is so many people your constantly running around people and trying to get ahead of them. Anyone else no what im talking about?  But still its fun to do it and it became a good tradition, my goal is to one day get my whole family to do it before thanksgiving (haha im actually LOLing) but a girl could dream.  I did it in 25:28 which is my fastest time yet so yay for that!

Image

okay so enough of me rambling on i no you just want the pie, also known as the bestpieever.

When i first became vegan i came across a few dessert recipes that called for this weird looking thing in the super market called tofu.  I avoided it for so long until I gave it a try one day.  I loved it, i became so inspired to try any kind of recipe and this one became my go to and the filling alone i put in anything from a trifle to just as a snack since its pretty impressing nutrition content..

By know means am i saying this pie is a nutrition powerhouse and you should go down one now but it is a billion times healthier then the non vegan variety !

Best PeanutButter Pie Ever

chocolate cooked crust (i blended 3tbs butter+1.5 cups back to nature cookies)

12-14 oz silken tofu

1+1/4 cup natural creamy peanut butter

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla

1 10oz bag chocolate chips

1/4-1/2 cup soy milk (tried it with almond and didnt care for it)

Preheat the oven at 350 and bake pie crust for 5 minutes just to get it a little crispy. Cool Completely.  In the microwave or double broiler melt the chocolate chips with the milk (start with 1/4 cup to thin it out add alittle more at a time if you need) then scoop out 1/4 cup of the chocolate mixture and set it aside and pour the remaining into the crust and spread even.  Refrigerate until sets* Meanwhile blend 1cup of the pb, tofu, maple syrup and vanilla until smooth then pour that on top of the set chocolate and spread even and refrigerate until set*  Once set remelt the leftover 1/4 cup of chocolate and the 1/4 cup of pb and mix together well and drizzle on top of the pie of just smear it on top for another layer.  Refrigerate until serving!

*Be patient with this, I have tried to skip this steps by putting it in the freezer, well its a major fail since it hardens the chocolate so hard that it doesnt go too well with the smooth pb layer.  So be patient with letting this set each time.. I know its hard!Image

Ugh do i wish there were leftovers!

I made 2 this year because it went sooo quick last year i felt bad not everyone got a piece and they both went just as quick this year, 3 maybe next year? 😉 I now make it every holiday or something with the pb mousse because you will see anything with it is amazing.  You will be licking the blender, believe me.

I put the the choc pb mixture in a ziplock bag and cut the end and just pipe it on the pie to make it look like i slaved in the kitchen for hours making it :-)!

Def try it this pie, asap! You will thank me.  I will be back tomorrow answering questions i got based on this post !

3 Responses to “Vegan Peanut Butter Pie”

  1. Devon @ Health in Equilibrium November 24, 2012 at 4:46 am #

    Peanut butter and pie are kinda my 2 favourite things. This is my personal heaven.

  2. Jen @ Existential Evolution November 25, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    Hi Kaity! The pie looks yummy. As I mentioned in an earlier correspondence my husband is very fond of peanut butter and will love this recipe. My digestive system, however, doesn’t like peanut butter (think acid reflux x1000) so I will substitute almond butter if I’m going to have some. I haven’t made any desserts with tofu but I’ve been reading about it for years. Does your body react negatively to tofu? For the most part I do ok with occasional soy consumption (tempeh, tofu, etc.).

    • kaityscooking November 25, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      oh man thats horrible, but yes def sub with almond butter my friend does when she makes it bc shes allergic to pb and loves it! i make so many pies with tofu now i wouldve never thought..and no it doesnt bother me, though i rarely have any soy products.. once every 2 weeks if even that much!

Leave a Reply

