Coconut Mound Balls

7 Dec

This is alittle pass halloween but for good reason, i always make coconut cookies during the holidays for the whole “snow looking” effect, I love mound bars but the chocolate always gives me a stomach ache so i wanted to recreate my own and these are delishh ! plus there so easy to make.. i take 2-3 with me to school and eat them as a snack and they always hold me over til lunch..

i have dunked them completely in chocolate but for the holidays i wanted to keep them partially covered..

Coconut Mound Balls

1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

4 tbs coconut oil

2 tbs maple syrup

2 tbs almond milk (water will work too)

1.5 tsp vanilla

2 tbs chocolate chips

In a bowl mix everything but the chocolate together, very well.. i use a work to get the coconut oil all mushed and mixed well.  Roll in balls and put in freezer for half hour.  Melt the chocolate and dip the bottoms then place back in the freezer til hardened. This recipe makes 12-16 depending on the size you make!

*if you want to cover the whole ball use 4tbs of chocolate and melt that then roll ball in it and use a fork or slotted spoon to take it out and get the excess chocolate off!

Image

My nieces cant get enough of these they keep saying “i want more snow balls” I think for christmas i may dip it in chocolate partially then put christmas sprinkles on it hmm!

Enjoy !

18 Responses to “Coconut Mound Balls”

  1. moderngirlnutrition December 7, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    Wow these look so decadent! They are super easy, too:)

    • kaityscooking December 8, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

      thank you and yess so easy thats why i love them!

  2. Alex @ therunwithin December 7, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    OH JESUS, I adore all things coconut so I am in love. However, I think I need to get my hands on some sort of coconut oil or butter. I have never had either

    • kaityscooking December 7, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

      coconut oils the best, cheapest in costco and the thing lasts forever

  3. gabriellebevel December 8, 2012 at 3:28 am #

    These look divine. I’ve just finished making Newfoundland snowballs, which call for lots of coconut. In my opinion, the more coconut, the better! Can’t wait to try out your recipe for these yummy-looking treats! Thanks for sharing.

    Stay Stylish
    xx
    Gabby
    stylishsensibility.com

    • kaityscooking December 8, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

      oh yumm those sound good! and yess more coconut is always better!

  4. caloricandcrazy December 10, 2012 at 4:06 am #

    mmmm these look delicious & i love how they are only a few ingredients!

    • kaityscooking December 13, 2012 at 12:39 am #

      thanks i no theyre so easy to make and so good

  5. Jen @ Existential Evolution December 13, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    These look amazing! I loved those Hostess Sno Balls when I was a kid and these remind me of a healthified version of those. Can’t wait to try this recipe!

    • kaityscooking December 13, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

      yes they do ! i use to loveee those to that would be something id always have to get at the store when i was younger

  6. Running In Heels January 30, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

    Oh my goodness.. these look heavenly!! I need them

    • kaityscooking January 31, 2013 at 11:26 am #

      thank you! i no they really are the bomb i cant get enough!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan Oatmeal Cookies « kaitys cooking - December 11, 2012

    […] cookies ! tis the season to make tons of cookies ! along with the coconut mounds, i made oatmeal cookies and 2 other cookie recipes youll get this week.  My thing with oatmeal […]

  2. WIAW #3 « kaitys cooking - December 12, 2012

    […] walking from the library i had 2 mound balls […]

  3. What I ate Wednesday- Rainy day « kaitys cooking - January 30, 2013

    […] I had 2, okay maybe 4 unpictured mound balls, they really are the best mid day!  Those fats keep me full fo […]

  4. What I ate Wednesday – Good Eats « kaitys cooking - February 6, 2013

    […] some mound balls minus chocolate, IM ALL OUT […]

  5. Healthified Snickers « kaitys cooking - February 12, 2013

    […] also made some coconut mounds and plain caramel.. Caramels were my FAV one growing up, i’d push each candy to see the inside […]

  6. What I Ate On the Weekend « kaitys cooking - February 13, 2013

    […] Snickers and Coconut Mounds […]

Leave a Reply

