Vegan Oatmeal Cookies

11 Dec

hey hey

with all my busy-ness this week i finally got in some food shopping in ! i went to the market and got all my produce then whole foods and trader joes and costco and got some stuff ill need for xmas plus little things i needed..

Image

celery,carrots,avocados,spinach, bananas,zucchinis, salad, butternut squash, greenbeans, sweet potatoes,kale and cabbage.  From the other stores i stocked up on my coconut oil, eggs, lentils, nutritional yeast, and of coarse popcorn plus baking stuff. i buy all my grains and beans in the bulk i never realized how much cheaper it is..do you ever buy stuff in the bulk? the produce lasts me over a week the only things i restock is bananas spinach and salad stuff, i go through that stuff like crazy!

Image

this is what i had to bring shopping with me btw.. lol

onto cookies ! tis the season to make tons of cookies ! along with the coconut mounds, i made oatmeal cookies and 2 other cookie recipes youll get this week.  My thing with oatmeal cookies they’re ALWAYS different. I made 4 diff batches because i was getting so annoyed they werent coming out how i wanted them too.. first i tried no eggs and they were to soft, good but i no my friends/family wouldnt like soft cookies theyd say “there not cooked” no matter how good they were.. then i tried with real eggs and ehhh not to good kinda eggy tasting hockey pucks..id take the soft ones over them lol then these babies came along.. i finally made a healthier oatmeal cookie that is non healthified people approved ;-)!

Vegan Oatmeal Cookies

1.5 cup oats

1/2 cup chopped nuts (i used pecans and almonds)

1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour

2-3 tbs raisins

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tbs coconut oil melted (vegetable oil will work too)

1 ener-g egg (flax egg will work)*

Preheat oven to 375.  Mix the “egg” with the amount of water the instructions call for and set it aside.  Mix all the ingredients in a bowl then add in the egg.  Roll the dough into balls about 2 tablespoons each were the size of my cookies.  Makes 16-20 cookies depending on the size. Bake for 10 minutes then let cool for 5 minutes.

* I tried this with a regular egg then even just an egg white and it just wasnt coming well, it had an egg taste to it that’s why i think it tasted best this way.

Image

yumm just enough crunch without being a “raw” tasting cookie.. Enjoy !

Whats your favorite cookies?

Do you go food shopping once a week or do you stretch it for longer?

7 Responses to “Vegan Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin December 11, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    aw those two are adorable!

    • kaityscooking December 12, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      Thanks Alex yeah they’re those loud kids u wanna kill at the stores lol

  2. Kerry @ Totes My Oats December 11, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Those cookies look so good! I love any type of oatmeal cookies.

    • kaityscooking December 12, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      Thanks Kerry I no oatmeal cookies r the bestt

  3. Jen @ Existential Evolution December 13, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    I love cookies that have the undercooked texture. My mom has always overbaked her cookies and we always remind her to pull them out early. She likes a crunchy cookie!

    • kaityscooking December 13, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

      i no me too! my friends and family both like them crunchy too.. thats why i had to compromise alittle with these lol

  4. moderngirlnutrition December 14, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    These cookies look so good! And those two are just adorable:) My sister and I used to do that same thing when we were little at Sam’s Club- grocery shopping was probably always such a hassle for my poor mom!;)

Leave a Reply

