BMI & Scale = Scary

7 Jan

okay i have come to realize i think when i put pics on here it doesnt show, nor save so i have to rewrite the whole post ugh ! i had a recipe post ready but i had to get this out there !

so this morning i had a free training session at the gym for being new. i dont really like the whole seeing a trainer thing because i like to do my own thing on my own time.. though they are very good for other people, and it is good to learn some new moves, i just rather not so i was trying to avoid it ! but then finally gave in, and it couldve been that the trainer was pretty cute but either way i was doing it.

what i wasnt looking forward to was the weigh in and body fat measures.. i havent been on a scale in a year and i only really measured my body fat once and dont really care to much for it.. my pants fit and i feel fine. so i show up to the appt having anxiety that im going to have to get on a scale.. let alone never thought that now cute boy was gonna no my weight lol but i really got nervous about it because last time i was on it i was my lowest weight so i knew it would obviously be higher but still

so i go to get on it, and instantly say “can i take my shoes off?” he said no you dont have to.. does he know i have to because thats almost a pound extra?! i continue to go.. 127 pounds.. thats close to 20, yes 20 pounds higher then i was at my lowest.  But sure was higher then my what i thought was my “happy” weight.  ive never been higher then this weight though so after i had my mini heart attack i then sighed with relief because i kept it in the back of my head that i barely worked out for a month, that i was on a cookie diet, and am going out partying a tleast 2x a week so of coarse its gonna be higher. i had to think of every excuse to make myself feel better.

onto the body fat average.. OH BOY was i scared!  also because i remember reading awhile ago if you dont eat enough calories your body holds on to fat easier.  since i have done that in my past i was scared it would say im morbid obese or something.  It was 25%, yes that was in the “normal” range but i still wanted to cry for a second. though i was never big into body fat measurements like i said, the one time i did it it was like 18.7 which was i think underweight which in my eyes at the time GREAT SUCCESS ! faill. so when i was 25 was normal-borderline overweight i cringed

he then went on to ask me what i wanted to do like what was my goal and all i could think was uhh lose 10lb and 5% body fat DUHHH!

then i took a breathe and thought…(warning TMI coming up) i never get my period, its always been like this since i got it at 14 (late bloomer i no lol) but id get it every few months.  Then when theyd put me on  birth control id get it but for months straight it was horrible, so i got over it and had dealt without it. i even asked sort of as an attempt to talk to someone i think (?!) when i was deep in my ed if gaining weight would be good to get it back and no1 ever said “yess try putting on a few pounds” or anything like that theyd just say no your fine, failed attempt again. but i got my period the day after christmas for first time in 6 months and thought “this was when i def put on a couple pounds and was on my cookie diet for 2 weeks and been drinking like its nothing and barely working out”.. I needed this weight for my body to function properly !

so instead of answering him on wanting to lose weight etc i said honestly my goal is to be healthy and maybe get stronger in my arms because i want to be able to complete the spartan race this summer without dieing.. lol

he agreed and said yeah your in great shape it seems so we will do some arm and core exercises to start.. (cute boy saying im in great shape ?! scoreee! haha im sucha girl  lol)

perfect !

though i was still mad on how i initially reacted to those numbers and had all those thoughts right back into my head.. im glad i powered through and went home and ate a normal amount of food and am planning on hitting the gym like i regularly do tomorrow with a normal workout.. all 127 lb 25% body fat of me :-D! im actually looking into doing the jamie eason workout has anyone tried this?! if so whats your opinion?

Thank you for listening to me bitch today ! ❤

Whats your opinion on personal training?  BMI?

14 Responses to “BMI & Scale = Scary”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin January 8, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    ok so we are pretty much the same person in regards to how we were at lowest and current but all I can say and remind you is our periods are sure sign of how we are treating our bodies. to get it back naturally is something that took so long, I finally can say I am getting it naturally (no birth control) and I would never want to jeopardize my health again. i don’t even look at numbers anymore I probably would have told the trainer I refuse to this… I just don’t care about numbers and wouldn’t want it to trigger me

    • kaity @ kaityscooking January 9, 2013 at 3:04 am #

      right i always thought that and i feel drs just wanted to throw medication at me everytime when i knew that wouldnt solve the underlying problem.. im so glad you got it again its really is such a bigg relief ! i sure no if any trainers ever want to do that again cute or not i cant handle lol

  2. Court Star @ StarSystemz January 8, 2013 at 6:44 am #

    Not to worry 🙂 How you feel about your body matters more then what any scale/person says!I would love to hear more about Jamie Easons workouts! Please give us a recap 🙂 Love + Shine CourtStar

    • kaityscooking January 9, 2013 at 3:17 am #

      yess def !! thank you ! and i def will it looks great yet very intimidating, right up my alley lol

  3. kickingitedstyle January 8, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    You totally fought back at that ED voice and you won! That’s so awesome!! The gym and the scale and the BMI (ARGH!) measurement are three of the scariest things to confront. You’re awesome for not letting that make you take your eyes off the prize of being HEALTHY and treating your body well. Way to go!!!!!!!!

    • kaityscooking January 9, 2013 at 3:14 am #

      thanks so much ! yes was def a speed bump and almost set me way back but thankfully didnt !

  4. Kerry January 8, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    I am totally against measuring BMI – especially when it comes to people who are active. BMI means NOTHING when dealing with athletes. Do not worry about the numbers! Proud of you for putting all of that information aside!!!

    • kaityscooking January 9, 2013 at 3:13 am #

      right i seriously dont get that what that number is used for ! i remember doing it in a lab in class and years ago the weight was so diff it said i should 25lbs less then what i am to be “average”.. just crazy ! thanks for the support !

  5. Natalie January 9, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    I don’t like the BMI scale at all and always disregard it. I also hate person trainer’s BUT they really do work for people who are not motivated enough or haven’t been to a gym in ages. The only reason I hate them is because their expensive and they really do put on the most perfect sales pitch to make it seem that you cant get fit without THEIR help. Well I just want to say that I lost 25 lbs on my own with the help of cardio and eating healthy!

    • kaityscooking January 9, 2013 at 3:07 am #

      right i never really paid attention to it because i no its so off but i thought i could handle it better and your right trainers are amazing for some people ! he was saying today if i was sore im like not really because i know how to workout and really push myself ! thats amazing congrats on 25 lbs !!

  6. moderngirlnutrition January 9, 2013 at 4:53 am #

    Hi Kaity! Congrats on getting back in the healthy range! That’s definitely a success for sure. I’m trying to gain a few lbs- it’s definitely not easy (especially when results are so slow:( ) Let me know if you have any tips!

    • kaityscooking January 9, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      Thanks Sunnie !! honestly the only tips i have is dont obsess over it.. even when i was only obsessing over not obsessing that underlying obsession is still there.. just let go and keep reminding yourself its what your body needs !! Good Luck !!

  7. Tara January 10, 2013 at 4:53 am #

    Quick suggestion…I’m sure you’re highly intelligent and I think even in university and maybe you’re trying to keep your blog casual and conversational in tone…but your writing tone and style is coming across very childish, immature and uneducated… you might get more readers writing in a more adult, edited (less run on sentences!!!) format…but again, just a suggestion

Leave a Reply

