Cheezy Quinoa

17 Jan

Nutritional Yeast.

Many you have heard of it, many could be hearing it for the first time.  I was knew to it a few years ago and creeped out completely when I finally gave in and bought it. See people said it gives everything a “cheesy” flavor and becoming a new vegan at the time only cheese tasted like cheese.  The first recipe I tried with it which was kind of dumb on my part was mac and cheese.  Yeah instead of using regular cheese I used a cup or so of this “nooch” stuff.  Oh god did I gag, I couldn’t even force it down.  I gave up on the stuff and then came across a few recipes that only called for a tbs or 2, a simple amount.  I tried it and began to see how it gives it that cheesy flavor.  By no means does it mimic sharp cheddar or fresh mozzarella like I first thought it would, it has it’s own unique taste that’s absolutely delicious.   Not only is it a source of protein and vitamins, especially the B-complex vitamins.  It is also naturally low in fat and sodium.  For vegans most of them are fortified with B-12 which is also a plus!

I sprinkle this stuff on everything! Salads, popcorn, eggs, and pretty much every savory meal.  I mix it with peanut butter sometimes to for an extra kick and trust me you don’t taste it, I’d gag again if it messed with my beloved peanut butter.  This is one of my favorite recipes to use it in and I have this at least once a week in my house.

Cheezy Quinoa (serves 1; can easily be doubled/tripled)

1/2 cup dry quinoa

1.5 cups water

1-2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 tbs nutritional yeast, plus more for sprinkling on top

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups kale, torn in pieces

1 cup broccoli

In a medium saucepan start by sauteing your garlic, once softened add the quinoa and water and give it a few stirs.  Once the water is absorbed and the quinoa is cooked (15-20) stir in your nutritional yeast and salt.  While quinoa is cooking in a separate pan saute your kale and broccoli until wilted and soft.  Serve quinoa on top of the kale and broccoli and sprinkle with more nutritional yeast.  (I used an extra tbs!) Enjoy.

Image

What makes me happy: Bananas.  Literally could eat 4 a day and have.  The browner and grosser looking the better! Freezing them is my favorite, after a run in the summer I’d come home take a couple pieces out of the freezer and it really hits the spot!  And banana soft serve?! the best.  No I don’t walk around saying it taste like ice cream because it doesn’t but it sure taste delicious!  I go to the reduced rack at the store and they take bananas that are just about to turn brown off shelves because “it looks bad”.  Poor bananas, so I save them all for about 10cents/ lb.  Can’t beat that.

Image

woohoo my freezer stash for about a month:-)!

off to try and do a run! have a good thursday!

10 Responses to “Cheezy Quinoa”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin January 17, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    I need your help, I have had nutrition yeast in my pantry for way too long but can’t get it to taste good at all. I need to follow your ideas!

    • kaityscooking January 18, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

      omg trust me i know what you mean! how i first started to like it was garlic powder and nut yeast on popcorn then 2 tbs of the yeast in 1/4 cup marinara sauce, it gives it a like spaghetti o’s tasting sauce its delish! goodluck!

  2. moderngirlnutrition January 18, 2013 at 12:33 am #

    Love this! I need to go get some:) And your banana stash is too funny haha. I see alot of smoothies in your future!:)

    • kaityscooking January 18, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

      yes def get some ! i noo frozen bananas make the best smoothies!

  3. Natalie January 18, 2013 at 2:53 am #

    Gotta love the quinoa! And I like that you added some kale for extra nutrients!

    • kaityscooking January 18, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

      i know i add some green to everything ! i could easily live without veggies even though i do like them lol

  4. Miranda @ Biting Life January 18, 2013 at 4:51 am #

    Holy crap… that is A LOT of bananas!!! How are you possibly going to fit all of those in your freezer?? Haha.

    I’ve always been interested in nutritional yeast, but have been kind of weirded out about it. This is the first post I’ve seen that’s really explained what it is and what it tastes like. I’m thinking about ordering some now!

    • kaityscooking January 18, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

      hahha i no my family wants to kill me that half of the freezer is bananas! yess def give it a try, like i said it takes some getting use to but once you do you cant live with out it!

  5. Jen @ Existential Evolution January 21, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

    Hi ya! I’m always looking for new ways to prepare quinoa. Thanks for the fresh ideas!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Banana Millet Muffins « kaitys cooking - January 26, 2013

    […] onto other things.  With this snowy weather we been getting and the crazy amount of bananas I had in the house I decided to make muffins. Boy do these hit the spot and make your house smell […]

Leave a Reply

