Meal Planning

21 Jan

Oh mannnn I start school tomorrow ahh. it’s snowing out too.  It barely has this whole month i’ve been off and now that I have to travel bam, snow.  Oh well, snow day?!? 😉

Image

I was having anxiety all week, well actually I still sort of am but am slowly getting over it.  My schedule I made in November dropped because stupid drama with credits and financial aid drama and my one class filled up right away.  I have to go to another campus without any of my friends that I have been with in these classes for over a year.  I was devastated. Plus i’m a baby and don’t like when I don’t know exactly where i’m going and stuff lol. 

Image

So today I forced my friend to come with me to see where I would park and stuff and got some of the books I needed.  That’s why im starting to get less anxiety about it because everything happens for a reason and it may be off I came in this class.  I hope!

So meal planning.  I use to be the best at it but would slowly decrease each time and the brown rice I had in the fridge would just go bad, fail. But with school being back and I have an actual okay schedule with the times they’re at this year hopefully it sticks.

Image

I’m fine with breakfast always and lunch is usually just a bunch of snacky things because it’s usually when i’m walking to my next class.  Dinner however, since it’s just me eating whatever I cook I get lazy and on my way home always think “oh i’ll pick up chinese or a salad”.  Not this week!  I went food shopping today and got all my stuff.  Most of my dinners are for 2 or more so they’ll last a couple days!

Monday & Tuesday: stuffed peppers

Wednesday & Thursday: sweet potato and black bean soup

Friday: Pizza night at my house, aka I get a salad and usually throw some veggies and a sweet potato on the side

Saturday: wing it.  any left overs.  My thing with Saturdays is I’m at work all day and go straight to the gym (woohoo I actually went to the gym at night, I deserve a pat on the back! or a doughnut..) so I’m not getting home until 630-7 which is fine to eat dinner at, but im to lazy to ever make anything then I just want to sit down since I just worked 10 hours.  I tried to eat before the gym but bringing breakfast, lunch AND dinner to work was kind of annoying.  I just gotta plan this day better!

Sunday: same thing I just wing it, I usually go out to eat with my family or something.

I cooked my quinoa for the peppers and cut up enough celery and carrots for the week because I bring them with me for snackage.  Also roasted some veggies to throw in my dinners.  Ah we shall see!

What makes me happy: Disney movies. Especially the old school ones.  Little mermaids my fav but why does ABC family have something against Ariel.  Every other movie was on this weekend!  They just never get old! I cried last night at Mufasa dieing and probably always will.

Image

What are your secrets to meal planning?!

Whats your favorite Disney movie?

13 Responses to “Meal Planning”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin January 21, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

    girl more power to you, I can’t meal plan for the life of me. Stress is something I hard core battle so hang in there

    • kaityscooking January 23, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

      I know, meal planning is very hard to do actually and it’s hard to keep up i think esp when your cooking for yourself

  2. Kerry January 22, 2013 at 12:20 am #

    Good for you! I wish I meal planned. I used to be better with it but now that I’m home at my parents’, I kind of just go with the flow!

    • kaityscooking January 23, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

      yeah when I ate the same food my parents did it was so much easier!!

  3. Natalie January 22, 2013 at 1:21 am #

    Can’t go wrong with stuffed peppers! They re-heat well too. I love the old Disney movies, my faves are definitely Little Mermaid, Cinderella and Bambi!

    • kaityscooking January 23, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

      Ahh bambi was so sad I still cry when the mom dies lol and I know leftover stuffed pepper is the best!

  4. moderngirlnutrition January 22, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    Haha I love all those e-cards, too;) Stuffed peppers are so good!

  5. Brittany January 22, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    I get so overwhelmed when I am in a new place like school to try and find places. It always gets easier in time though! Meal planning is so fun to me, but I haven’t done it in months. I would meal plan for a week at a time making meals that had similar ingredients to ensure everything was used up.

    • kaityscooking January 23, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

      Yeah after a couple of weeks i’ll feel better in the new school.. I know I use to love doing it! know its a big stress for me because I never know what i’m in the mood for lol

  6. aftertheivyleague January 23, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    Last semester when I was going to grad school and working full-time, meal planning was SO difficult. I totally know where you’re coming from. I usually kept easy, fast meals around like frozen veggie or salmon burgers. Then I could usually quickly bake a sweet potato or make sweet potato fries on the side. Chicken sausage is another quick easy dinner, or pasta with sauteed veggies and red sauce. And I also loveddd The Little Mermaid growing up 🙂 Definitely my favorite, although Beauty and the Beast was a close second.

    • kaityscooking January 23, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

      Yeah thats such a good idea, I make sweet potatos with everything its a good filling food ! Beauty and the beast was def up there!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I ate Wednesday « kaitys cooking - January 23, 2013

    […] with my meal plans and made my stuffed peppers and sauteed kale, looks kinda sad but was so […]

  2. What I ate Wednesday- Rainy day « kaitys cooking - January 30, 2013

    […] has just really been helping with clearing my head so I think that’s why.  But onto food, my meal planning went out the window this week and I could explain! I do my food shopping Mondays and I had […]

Leave a Reply

