Banana Millet Muffins

26 Jan

Ahh the weekend, I have nothing planned and I like it! I been going to the gym at night on Saturdays after work and though I’m dieing getting there, I still feel good just getting a little something in.  As for gym boy, he was pretty much doing circles around me yesterday and I saw him looking at me and I tried to catch him a few times but no luck, then I was filling my water and he walked by me and said “hey kaity hows it going” and kept walking, soo awkward lol. Oh well ! Speaking of awkward you know how I told I send my friends the ugliest pictures of me on snapchat. WELL, I got caught. I’m cracking up as I write this but I wash my hair once a week in the winter, I don’t know why but it just never looks bad.  Once it does I’m not the type to push it another day I wash it but not the point.  My one friend doesn’t understand how I could do that, so yesterday I had finally washed my hair and when it air drys I am like mufasa, no joke.  So I sent her a ugly picture, with my hair looking like that and whatever. I would have dealt with accidentally sending it to someone else but no I wrote on it “this is why I don’t wash my hair ever”.  Then accidentally checked this guy and sent it to him also. HAHAHA oh man.  He hasn’t checked it yet it says and hopefully he don’t know even how to use snapchat but I have no idea how I’d even get out of that lol. Lesson Learned. I also deleted any guys that I’d mind seeing a picture like that from snapchat.

But onto other things.  With this snowy weather we been getting and the crazy amount of bananas I had in the house I decided to make muffins. Boy do these hit the spot and make your house smell uhhh-mazing.

Image

To spice things up, and use up some stuff that has been lurking around my pantry for what seems like years, I used millet.

Millet is a tiny grain like quinoa, but has more of a mild sweet flavor.  Not only is it 15% protein, it has a ton of B vitamins, high in iron and calcium plus a ton of more essential vitamins and nutrients! It is also gluten free! I think it has a cornmeal texture when you use it which i absolutely LOVE.  I sub millet for cornmeal when I make cornbread sometimes because I rarely have cornmeal in the house for some reason.

Image

ignore my pretty nails.

Banana Millet Muffins (makes 12)
Adapted for here

  • 2/3 cup millet
  • 1 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour*
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar
  • 2 tbs coconut oil, melted (veg oil would work)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat your oven to 375.  Place your millet in a food processor or high speed blender until its a fine flour like texture (cornmeal texture!).  Then mix the millet, flour, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon in a bowl.  Add in the banana, oil, milk, vanilla, and sugar.  Mix well! Stir in the delicious chocolate chips if using. Place in muffin holders and bake for 18-20 minutes.

*You can sub in any gluten free flour that you like to make these 100% GF!

**I threw the banana and all the wet ingredients into a blender because I’m lazy and worked well, plus the blender was already dirty from the millet so why not lol.

Image

enjoy your weekend!

What makes me happy: my heated mattress pad. I asked for it a few christmas’ ago and my mom isn’t in to all those heat things for fire safety etc.  But she started to feel bad when she saw my room was going down to 30s some nights.  I’m over the garage and my front window is sort of broke, so no matter how high the heat is it’s still cold.  This thing is amazing I use to be that type to love getting in a cold bed when I’m cold, yeah well because I never got into a warm bed.  Best thing ever.  I have been peeling myself out of bed in the mornings because I don’t want to get out.  Do you like cold or warm beds?

Seriously, whats the most embarrassing thing you ever did?!

20 Responses to “Banana Millet Muffins”

  1. quartercenturysouthernliving January 26, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    Ah, these look so good! I fell down the bleachers at a basketball game. Yeah, that was pretty embarrassing.

    • kaityscooking January 29, 2013 at 12:57 am #

      thank you! and HAHA just laughed at that sorry, falling is the worse but hilarious when other people do it lol

  2. Brittany @ DulceVie January 26, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    I just made banana muffins and I have been looking for another banana muffin recipe to try! I can’t wait to try these 🙂

    • kaityscooking January 31, 2013 at 2:25 am #

      Thanks and good I love trying new banana muffin recipes I gotta c urs ! Never cud have to many

    • kaityscooking January 31, 2013 at 2:28 am #

      Thanks and good I love trying new banana muffin recipes I gotta c urs ! Never cud have to many !

  3. jessiebearwhat January 26, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    mmmmmmm those muffins look so yummmyyyy

  4. jessiebearwhat January 26, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    mmmmmm those muffins look so yummy.

  5. Alex @ therunwithin January 26, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    heated mattress pad??? jealous!!

    • kaityscooking January 29, 2013 at 12:58 am #

      yes def the best thing, at end of winter they get really cheap keep an eye out for them.. you wont regret it!

  6. moderngirlnutrition January 26, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    These look so good! (and are so pretty!) You should come bake for me haha- all your recipes turn out perfect!

    • kaityscooking January 29, 2013 at 12:59 am #

      haha your so sweet thanks sunnie! and i only try to post the prettiest pics, trust me i had some scary muffins lol

  7. Brittany January 26, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Bahahaha ohh my gosh I always FEAR sending pictures to the wrong people when they are like that. That is too funny. And gym boy needs to just talk to you like a normal person already!! YUM to these muffins!

    • kaityscooking January 29, 2013 at 1:00 am #

      hahah i nooo i knew it would happen sooner or later.. i know gym boy is such a guy lol

  8. Amanda @ .running with spoons. January 26, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    There’s seriously no better smell than that of some kind of banana treat being baked in the kitchen. That along with warm beds (heated matress?! omigosh jealous!!) are some of the most comforting things in the winter. And oh man… I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve sent a text to the wrong person – some of them were seriously embarrassing.

    • kaityscooking January 29, 2013 at 1:01 am #

      hahah sending embarrassing texts are the worse!! and your right warm beds and smelling of banana are such comforts in the winter!!

  9. Natalie January 27, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

    Love the smell of banana anything baking! So delicious! I like that you used millet in these muffins, never tried that before.

    • kaityscooking January 29, 2013 at 1:02 am #

      i no it really is the best! millet gives in a little crunch its soo good!

  10. Miranda @ Biting Life January 29, 2013 at 4:32 am #

    I would NEVER have thought to put millet in a baked good, haha. But these actually look really good. I’m bookmarking this! I have a bunch of millet in my pantry that I’ve been trying to use for something.

    • kaityscooking January 29, 2013 at 11:01 am #

      I know its so good, and thats why I had to give it a try it was just sitting in my pantry for months now, goodluck with it!

Leave a Reply

