What I ate Wednesday- Rainy day

30 Jan

Happy Hump Day!

I was so excited that today was going up to the 50s so I could finally do a run outside, not realizing it’s in the 50s but down pouring all day. fail. I did a kickboxing class last night that’s pretty good and did a quick arm workout before it which is killing me today.  I’m doing the spartan race in June with a few friends (all guys, any girls doing it want to be my friend?!?) and it says you should be able to have the strength to do 25 pull ups.  HA. I can’t do one, I tried.  So I been doing alot of free weights to build up and I’m up to a whopping 9lbs already! I know I know, Im soo strong.  So today I might just go walk on the treadmill for a little with some work because I haven’t actually had a rest day in over a week ! ( I know so bad! )  It has just really been helping with clearing my head so I think that’s why.  But onto food, my meal planning went out the window this week and I could explain! I do my food shopping Mondays and I had everything all planned out Sunday night til I remember I had to do blood tests Tuesday am.  Long story short with these tests I get em once a month and i have to starve fast for 24 hours, yes 24 hours. I always feel bad for the people around me. So I was not doing that to myself and going food shopping that’s just mean lol. Onto food, thank you Jenn for hosting.

Image

Breakfast:

it’s weird after I fast I always tell myself I’m going home and eating everything, but I always have that sick to my stomach feeling.  Go figure.  But I forced down some pumpkin oatmeal, mixed in with some cashew butter mmmm.

Image

I also had not one but two coffees, oh yes this is happening.  Here’s my reasoning.  I have to go to a new campus about 35 minutes away, and I get there about an hour early because I’m cool and usually just go to the library.  But by the time I get to school and really need my coffee it’s gone.  So I got a small that I drank on the way and had my coffee  for classes, win win! Not really for my wallet, def cant do that weekly lol.

Image

as you can see what was for my snackish lunch

Image

Image

and I had 2, okay maybe 4 unpictured mound balls, they really are the best mid day!  Those fats keep me full fo eva!

Dinner

Image

see what happens when I don’t meal plan, I make a bunch of deliciousness. 1/2 a can of cannelloni beans with roasted brussel sprouts, broccoli, carrots and kale in hummus and nutritional yeast ofcoarse. 

Snack:

banana and peanutbutter mmmmmmm

What makes me happy: Rainy days.  As much as I want to go for a run and do errands, sometimes it’s just so much to not. Days like it is here today you are sort of forced (i’ll pretend i am) to sit inside and do nothing. But since that can’t happen I’m forced to do some homework and maybe dvr?!  I just get anexity when I am doing nothing and should be doing something else like walking on the treadmill or doing my errands, so we’ll see how this goes and if I can make it through!

Do you have trouble just relaxing and doing nothing ?! If not, give me your secrets!

What have you been eating lately?

28 Responses to “What I ate Wednesday- Rainy day”

  1. jessiebearwhat January 30, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    Love rainy days :). And I feel like cashew butter goes really well with anything pumpkin-y. I’ll have to try it in my pumpkin oats!

    • kaityscooking January 30, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

      i noo i love my PB but i feel cashew butter n pumpkin def hit it off well 😉

  2. Alex @ therunwithin January 30, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    oh man I am so jealous, I have been dying to do a spartan day. sometimes I need rain to make me do nothing which always feels so good in the end

    • kaityscooking January 30, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

      you def should do one, look into it there has to be one by you! I know some hectic weeks I pray for rain or a snow day!

  3. aftertheivyleague January 30, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    25 pullups to do a Spartan Race? Eek, sounds like I’m in trouble. I signed up for one in August! And sometimes I feel guilty taking time to relax and am always thinking about other things I should be doing. What works best for me is to get those nagging tasks done then relax. Totally guilt free!

    • kaityscooking January 30, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

      ahh yes, I know i’m in trouble too dont worry lol on its site they also have a workout that doesn’t look to bad i may just go by that one and its true that what i got to start doing just getting everything out of the way first!

  4. Brittany January 30, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    25 pull up!?!?! NO way!! I can’t do one either! That is insane haha good luck! I live in a rainy state, but it’s not been bad this year. It rained last night and I actually enjoyed it! The only times I enjoy having some down time to do nothing is when I have a full life the rest of the time.

    • kaityscooking January 30, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

      I no! thank you ill def need it! That’s good sometimes you def need it! I know during some crazy times all i think about is hitting the couch when I get home, thats when I really enjoy it!

  5. Natalie January 30, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    It’s rainy here too! two coffees? that’s me on certain days, but usually more than 1 makes me too hyper lol

    • kaityscooking January 30, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

      omg trust me you have to see my notes they are all over from me shaking so much lol

  6. Amanda @ .running with spoons. January 30, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    24 hours of fasting?! Omigosh that’s inhumane! I honestly don’t think I would even be able to do that. Mad props, girl. And I used to struggle BIG TIME when it came to letting myself relax and just be, but I was kind of forced to slow down after some major stress issues and I learned to relax. It was definitely a struggle at first, and relaxing didn’t even feeling like relaxing since I was so high strung, but eventually I kinda started liking it 😉

    • kaityscooking January 30, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

      it really is, I pretty much sat in bed all day to avoid the kitchen it’s the worst thing ever! Yeah so many people have trouble relaxing I never realized U was one of them but it’s true I got to force myself to slow too.. I’m glad you finally learned how to enjoy it !

  7. quartercenturysouthernliving January 31, 2013 at 1:51 am #

    I love that you had two coffees, that is awesome! Lately I have appreciated every chance I have to relax, catch up on DVR, take a nap, and just appreciate the little things in those quiet moments 🙂

    • kaityscooking January 31, 2013 at 2:23 am #

      I no coffee was much needed ! That sounds like my kind of relaxing day I def need to do it more !

  8. moderngirlnutrition January 31, 2013 at 2:15 am #

    Oatmeal is my go-to food when I’m feeling sick! It never gives me any problems. And I love cashew butter! Happy WIAW Kaity:)

    • kaityscooking January 31, 2013 at 2:23 am #

      Yea oatmeal is like my clean slate food it’s always good ! And I no I always forget about cashew butter n it’s sooo good! Have a good day sunnie!

  9. Brittany @ DulceVie January 31, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    That pumpkin oatmeal looks really good! It was raining here but then it started snowing… weird.

    • kaityscooking February 2, 2013 at 1:22 am #

      Thank you ! That’s the worse I hate when it’s a slushy rainy messy it’s just cold n blah !

  10. Kerry January 31, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

    That dinner looks awesome! Love beans and veggies!

    • kaityscooking February 1, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

      i no it really is so good, and so quick and easy to do!

  11. Hannah @ cleaneatingveggiegirl February 1, 2013 at 3:44 am #

    I love making snack plates for lunch. Some of my favorite things to include are veggies and hummus, fruit, yogurt, and something crunchy like crackers or lentil chips. So yummy!

    • kaityscooking February 1, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

      yuumm i still havent tried lentil chips i just stare at them in the store contemplating on buying them or not.. and def snack plates are so much easier esp with me for school

  12. alltidrun February 1, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    I lol’d at the coffee pic– I’m the same way though. I show up to work every night with 2 coffees and a green tea and the coworker I relieve just shakes her head at me. Oh well! 🙂

    • kaityscooking February 1, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

      haha right some days i just need it ! esp at night id def need it if i were you !

  13. Jen @ Existential Evolution February 2, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    Hi ya! Right now I’m so jealous of 50 degrees ~ it didn’t even get above 0 here in Minnesota today! Way to pack a great lunch! I love to laze around and do nothing but I have to make time to do it ~ may I suggest using some meditation cd’s to get you all groovy and relaxed? If so, check out the FAQ: Meditation page on my site ~ maybe something will resonate:-) http://existentialevolution.com/faqs-meditation/

    • kaityscooking February 2, 2013 at 1:21 am #

      Oh my gosh Jen below 0 degrees?! Im sorry, power to you ! As for the meditation i’ll have to try it.. i just checked it out it looks awesome thanks so much !

  14. GiGi Eats Celebrities February 2, 2013 at 1:10 am #

    That pumpkin oatmeal looks so cozy and perfect for a winter morning! YUM! 😀 The perfect way to break a “fast” too! LOL!

    • kaityscooking February 2, 2013 at 1:23 am #

      lol it is the best in the winter! and it was defff perfect after my fast, hit the spot!

Leave a Reply

