Brownies and Taco Dip- vegenized

1 Feb

ahhh another school week completed. I did not cry this week, okay I may have got a little teary eyed because I couldn’t work the microscope again but I finally did and saw some pretty awesome slides.

So super bowl is this weekend! I honestly have zero clue I’m either going to a friends house I go to most of the time or going to hang at my families house.  Don’t know, all I know is I will be bringing mad FOOD!

Thanks to pinterest I found these babies and decided I finally try them.  Me and betty crocker use to best friends, seriously i’d make a cake and people would say it was delicious and I may have said, okay I def said it was made from scratch sometimes. Until I actually became good at baking and realized the homemade stuff is 100x better, sorry betty.

I had come across tons of vegan brownie recipes and tried them but I never have 1/4 cup of tofu hanging around or only “dutch pressed” chocolate. No offense.  But you have all these ingredients and if you want to wow your friends that vegan food is good then make these, now.

ImageBrownies3/4 cup raw sugar
3/4 whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted (canola or butter will work too)
1/2 unsweetened almond milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350.  Mix together the sugar, flour, cocoa, and baking powder.  In a seperate bowl mix the oil, milk and vanilla then add to the flour mixture.  Mix well (it’s a thick batter but it’s suppose to be).  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Pour and spread in a oiled 8×8 pan and bake for 21-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool 10 minutes before cutting.

*I just cut them into football shapes and these pictures don’t do justice for how gooey the brownies are.  I mixed 2 tbs of powdered sugar and 1 tbs of butter and used that as the frosting.  When cut regular I get 12 kaity servings, or 16 regular servings. 🙂

Image

Now if your feeling really confident after making these brownies then lets move on to worlds best dip ever. Taco dip.  Me and my friends use to get these premade from the store pretty much everyday after school.  They are addicting.  I am not going to lie I am not a huge fan of the vegan sour cream, but at the same time I never cared to much for the regular version either.  But it is necessary for the dip because it brings everything together, so it uses just enough taco seasoning to really bring it over the top.

Taco Dip

1 can refried beans
1/4 cup salsa
12oz sourcream (i.e tofutti)
3/4 package of taco seasoning (i.e bearitos)
1.5 cup guacomole*
1 cup cheddar cheese
1 tomato, diced (optional)

Mix the beans and salsa in a small bowl.  Place that on the bottom of a clear bowl/dish or any bowl will do.  Mix the sourcream and taco seasoning and then place that over the bean mixture. Then place the guacomole over it and sprinkle with the cheese and optional tomato.  Refrigerate until serving.

*You can use a premade guacomole which I usually do, but this time I am making it homemade using Kerry’s recipe, I mean seriously look how good that looks.

Image

becomes this

Image

get in ma belly!

Other stuff I am planning to make is Sunnies delicious looking chili..and amandas sweet potato fries.. oh man I hope my friends/family are HUNGRY!

What makes me happy: it’s the freaking weekend. (said in R.Kelly voice.) After work tomorrow I am hopefully going to the gym then going out to dinner and bars with a few friends. Much needed! I was also suppose to do the polar plunge out in Long Beach Sunday but it’s apparently suppose to snow, yeah not happening.

What are you doing/making for superbowl?

23 Responses to “Brownies and Taco Dip- vegenized”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin February 2, 2013 at 1:19 am #

    taco dip is like my favorite thing ever, I adore refried beans. so yummy!

    • kaityscooking February 2, 2013 at 1:24 am #

      right! I can easily go through a can of refried beans in a sitting. soo good

  2. quartercenturysouthernliving February 2, 2013 at 2:31 am #

    This looks so good!! Especially the brownies considering how much I love chocolate!! I still need to decide what to make for the Super Bowl. 🙂

    • kaityscooking February 2, 2013 at 2:51 am #

      Ughhh I no these are the best chocolate fix too ! And def check out sunnie n amandas recipes they look great and ohsheglows.com posted a whole bunch of recipes ! Goodluck !

  3. Amanda @ .running with spoons. February 2, 2013 at 2:50 am #

    Oh my gawl. How have I never heard of taco dip before?!?! It looks freaking amazing!! I don’t have any Superbowl parties this weekend (I’m not into football… maybe it comes with being Canadian – hockey is our thing), but I’m going to request that our family dinner on Sunday be Mexican themed and I’m SO making something like this.

    • kaityscooking February 2, 2013 at 2:56 am #

      Hopefully you make it, you will be addicted !! And that’s true I love hockey though hopefully NY gets far enough so I can have a party just to make more taco dip 😉have a good relaxing wknd !

  4. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 2, 2013 at 4:56 am #

    Thanks so much for sharing these recipes! I love having the ability to make tasty vegan snacks for parties and gatherings. The taco dip looks awesome!!

    • kaityscooking February 3, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

      thank you! and I know whenever I get the chance to bring vegan stuff to a party i jump on that i love seeing peoples reactions when they like it and realize it’s vegan

  5. nicolamadore February 2, 2013 at 6:05 am #

    Definitely going to try the taco dip this weekend! I have just started using Daiya cheese and am loving it!

    • kaityscooking February 3, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      good! and i know i love daiya cheese!! i have tried some nasty vegan ones out there and daiya is the best!

  6. alltidrun February 2, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

    I endorse any blog post with an R. Kelly reference in it. Also, those brownie footballs look uh-mazing.

    • kaityscooking February 3, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

      hahah i know def a throwback song! thank you!

  7. jessiebear February 2, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    MMMM those brownies. and that taco dip. yummm. I love the cute football shapes too!

    • kaityscooking February 3, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

      thank you! i know they were to cute to pass up!

  8. moderngirlnutrition February 3, 2013 at 3:08 am #

    Thank you so much for the shoutout:) I hope you like the chili! And those football cookies are ridiculously cute!

    • kaityscooking February 3, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

      uhhh its delicious!! my family LOVED it. so glad I went with your recipe!

  9. Luv What You Do February 3, 2013 at 4:43 am #

    Those are the cutest brownies EVER!
    I love baking for the superbowl!

    • kaityscooking February 3, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      thank you! I know i been eyeing them for awhile to make and everytime superbowl comes around i forget about them!

  10. Natalie February 4, 2013 at 1:51 am #

    Your brownies look great! I actually just made some as well, with walnuts!

    • kaityscooking February 4, 2013 at 1:52 am #

      Yummm I love them with walnuts my friends hate when I put them in though!

  11. Courtney @ Star Systemz February 4, 2013 at 3:47 am #

    Those brownies look amazing and super cute! When I became vegan every cookbook used tofu and it drove me mad because like you, half of it got stuck on the side and the texture freaked ,me out a bit. I hope you are enjoying Superbowl Sunday and your brownies 🙂 love and shine courtstar

    • kaityscooking February 4, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

      Thank you ! I no I like tofu but not in the brownies so annoying ! Hope your enjoying your vaca !!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roasted Almond Flaxseed Butter « kaitys cooking - February 4, 2013

    […] day but long story short it all went over so well and everyone loved the chili, sweet potato fries, taco dip and ofcoarse the brownies! I loved watching big tough guys eat these little football shaped […]

Leave a Reply

