Roasted Almond Flaxseed Butter

4 Feb

Hey hey how was everyones weekend?! anyone’s team win?  I don’t care who won but I won the final box of $200 holla! ;-)

My brother and dad also won the other quarters, it was just a pool from my moms job, but I’d be so annoyed if a whole family won everything haha

I’ll get into the day and the food another day but long story short it all went over so well and everyone loved the chili, sweet potato fries, taco dip and ofcoarse the brownies! I loved watching big tough guys eat these little football shaped brownies haha

I been addicted to making peanutbutter since I got my vitamix. It takes 30 seconds to make a full jar of it, can’t get any better!  My favorite kind of butter is trader joe’s almond flaxseed!  But my store hasn’t sold it since it was recalled months ago.  I had to take matter into my own hands.  I have a weak food processor so everytime I tried to make this it just turned into a warm almond flour lol

Image

But with the vitamix it says to add oil to make almond butter because almonds take longer to release oils and I just don’t really like it to oily yet didn’t want to break my vitamix either.  So i added some cashews just enough because they release oils quick like peanutbutter.  Oh was this amazing.

Image

 Flaxseed has a ton of healthy components but the popular ones are:

  • Omega-3 essential fatty acids, “good” fats that have been shown to have heart-healthy effects. Each tablespoon of ground flaxseed contains about 1.8 grams of plant omega-3s.
  • Lignans, which have both plant estrogen and antioxidant qualities. Flaxseed contains 75 to 800 times more lignans than other plant foods.
  • Fiber. Flaxseed contains both the soluble and insoluble types. [source]

Roasted Almond Flaxseed Butter

1 cup cashews
2 cups almonds
1/4 cup flaxseed

Preheat oven to 300 and spread the almonds and flaxseed on a cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes then flip and bake for another 10 minutes.  Once done add the cashews and almonds to the vitamix. Turn it on and move it to 10 then high, and using the tamper keep pushing it down. This will take about 45 seconds. Once desired consistency lower and add the flaxseed til just mixed. Makes close to 2 cups.
**If don’t have a vitamix follow the same directions just in a powerful food processor and process for 10-15 minutes and continue to scrape the sides down!

**Instead of using cashews you can use peanutbutter or just 2-3 tablespoons of any oil you like (canola, peanut, flaxseed, etc)

Image

then only downside of the vitamix?! it doesn’t come apart so I can lick every crevice to get the almond butter.  I think I did a pretty good job though

Image

Beware this stuff is addicting and just because it’s home made it’s still not good to eat half of the jar, just saying.

Image

What’s your favorite kind of nut/seed butter?

Any of your favorite foods ever get recalled or discontinued?

25 Responses to “Roasted Almond Flaxseed Butter”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin February 4, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    i have never even used my food processor that I got for xmas, I need to get on that

    • kaityscooking February 4, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

      Haha u sound like me my food processor took back seat for so long til I realized how awesome it is ! It cuts veggies in seconds which is the best thing ever!

  2. Natalie February 4, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    Sounds amazing! I badly want a vitamix so I can make awesome stuff like this but for now I have a sucky blender :(

    • kaityscooking February 5, 2013 at 11:18 am #

      Lol you sound like me ! But when you can get it, def do it is worth every penny!

  3. Brittany @ DulceVie February 4, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    My favorite kind of nut butter is almond butter. This morning was my first time trying it and I loooved it :)

    • kaityscooking February 5, 2013 at 11:19 am #

      oh yumm! the first time i tried it i ouldn’t like it because i just liked my pb to much.. now its def a fav!

  4. Running In Heels February 4, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    Congrats!! I would be waaay too excited if I won $200! New running shoes!

    • kaityscooking February 5, 2013 at 11:20 am #

      thank you! i no exactly what i said i’m like good i need new workout clothes and sneakers! lol

  5. jessiebear February 4, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

    mmm almond butter is my faaav!

  6. Luv What You Do February 4, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    Doesn’t spinach get recalled all of the time?! I have never seen that almond butter at TJ’s but I think it’s a great idea to make your own. I love homemade nut butters and the thought of adding cashews is genius!

    • kaityscooking February 5, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      I have seen spinach get recalled alot! crazy. its the best i started by getting the pb version then moved to almond butter and can’t go back! cashews was a good addition and you don’t even taste it for those almond butter addicts!

  7. eclecticlamb February 4, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    My favorite nut butter is almond butter.

  8. moderngirlnutrition February 5, 2013 at 12:20 am #

    So glad you liked the chili! That nut butter looks amazing and just like an (inexpensive) version of Nuttzo- yum! Last night I made cashew butter, but my food processor over heated haha. I need a bigger one:)

    • kaityscooking February 5, 2013 at 11:23 am #

      def did! and watttt i just heard of the nuttzo stuff yesterday and never seen it!! I really need to find it, sounds amazing. Lol I alwaysssss overheated my food processors!

  9. quartercenturysouthernliving February 5, 2013 at 1:00 am #

    Nice that you won money! That is so awesome! This looks really good! I am an old fashioned peanut butter girl :)

    • kaityscooking February 5, 2013 at 11:24 am #

      I know I was so excited! I know I think PB will always have my heart I try to change it up though!

  10. Amanda @ .running with spoons. February 5, 2013 at 4:05 am #

    I have yet to try making my own nut butter, and I even have a Vitamix and everything! I think part of the reason I avoid it is because I hate cleaning the dratted thing… soooo hard to get in all those crevices. Well, that and I’m pretty much in love with Maisie Jane’s roasted almond butter… I’m not sure I could ever replicate that taste!

    • kaityscooking February 5, 2013 at 11:25 am #

      hhaha it is soo annoying to clean! but once you make it you will probably never wanna buy any again. maisie janes?! hmm sounds really good though maybe they have it at whole foods so i could try it! they got everything at that store.

  11. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 5, 2013 at 4:32 am #

    Oooo this looks so good! I have been dying to try making my own nut butters. Thanks for sharing! :)

    • kaityscooking February 5, 2013 at 11:26 am #

      def try it! you will never wanna buy your own nutbutter again lol

  12. Court Star @ StarSystemz February 5, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    What an awesome recipe! One of my clients has a food processor so I will have to go by her house and test this out! I need one but we move so often I have yet to have time to go out and buy a Vitamix because I am afraid I will forget it! I am happy to hear everyone loved your football brownies, they sound so good, I wrote down the recipe to try it out! Love + Shine CourtStar

    • kaityscooking February 5, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

      yeah def try it! ahh i’d be afraid to lose it too! the brownies were amazing I already want to make another batch!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I ate Wednesday – Good Eats « kaitys cooking - February 6, 2013

    […] why haven’t I done this sooner?! it’s like a pumpkin oatmeal french toast with some almond butter in there plus coffee on the side of […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

