Vegan Mini Chocolate Filled Chocolate Donuts

8 Feb

Damn you Nemo and Dunkin Donuts.

Image

For those of you who haven’t heard, Nemo is the storm hitting here soon, 30 inches of snow? Yeah why couldn’t you come during the week so I can have a snow day?! But really, since when did we start naming snow storms?  For those of you just starting to read when we got hit with Sandy and most of LI was out of gas, yeah that’s what’s going on now.  Two hours to get gas? No thanks, I rather eat donuts. People are crayy.

Image

my thoughts exactly

So why Dunkin Donuts? Because every morning I go there I have to stare at these brownie batter filled chocolate donuts. Then think all throughout the day on how I could make them at home.  I don’t have a regular donut pan just a mini and they worked out perfectly.  I am going to get a regular pan though just for these.

Image

Chocolate Donuts

3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup raw sugar
1 Tbs baking powder
1 flax egg (or energ-egg/real egg)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted (canola/butter will work!)

Chocolate Filling
1 ripe avocado
1/2 very ripe banana
2 tbs cocoa powder
2 tbs maple syrup (or stevia)

Preheat oven to 400.  Combine flour, sugar, cocoa and baking powder in a bowl. Add egg, oil, milk and vanilla.  Mix until smooth.  Spoon the mixture into a donut pan filling only half way.  Blend the ingredients for the chocolate filling very well then put it onto then top of the donuts.  Top the donuts with the rest of the donut batter.  Bake 10 minutes.  Let cool for 5 minutes before taking them out of the pan.  Top with icing if you want! [Recipe Below]

ImageChocolate Icing
2 tbs melted coconut oil (only this oil will work, butter will to!)
2 tbs cocoa powder
2 tbs maple syrup (or agave)

Mix in a small bowl, Dip donuts in and then dip in sprinkles if desired.

Image

Perfect for a snow storm!  I am going out tonight with a friend but I am so excited to plant my butt on the couch and catch up on DVR until Monday.  Who am I kidding my school work will be right next to me and I probably won’t watch tv lol.

What makes me happy: Dressing up! Which I am tonight.  Being in school I think it would be frowned upon me wearing over the knee stilettos.  Then at work, I dress nice but I am not bringing my A game in that department because I have ruined enough of my nice clothes spilling color/bleach on them. But really how cute is this dress? I could wear this stuff everyday!

Image

Do you like dressing up?

Whats your go to snacks/foods during storms?

24 Responses to “Vegan Mini Chocolate Filled Chocolate Donuts”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin February 8, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

    the oh damn caption is perfect, oh perfect. those look good. I do like to dress up sometimes but i also love my shorts and a t shirt. have a good night!

    • kaityscooking February 9, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

      They were so good thanks. Yeah if I could live in a tshirt I probably would!

  2. mysending February 8, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    Love your wine map, but it doesn’t stretch far enough to up here in New England! Love the recipes–if I can keep my oven on, maybe I’ll try them!

    • kaityscooking February 9, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      I know I heard you guys go hit bad ! hope you survived it ! Thank you, def a recipe to try!

  3. Running In Heels February 8, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    I love your dress!! I don’t get enough opportunities to dress up!

    • kaityscooking February 9, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      Thank you! I know sometimes I make opportunities when I probably shouldn’t, overdressing just to go out to dinner was never a bad thing 😉

  4. jessiebear February 8, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    I LOVE dressing up! Good luck with the storm 🙂

    • kaityscooking February 9, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      Right, its def the best! Thank you, we survived!

  5. quartercenturysouthernliving February 8, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

    Dressing up can definitely be fun on occasion. For daily life, I wish I could rock yoga pants and t-shirts 🙂 Maybe someday. By the way, these look absolutely amaze!!

    • kaityscooking February 9, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      Yessss t-shirts are the best. I love dressing up but can’t wait til I can wear scrubs to work daily !

  6. Natalie February 9, 2013 at 1:14 am #

    I ordered a pizza for this crazy storm, and a bottle of wine of course ;P Your vegan donuts look yummy, that’s the only thing I am missing on this winter night, CHOCOLATE!

    • kaityscooking February 9, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

      We ordered a pizza too but couldn’t get out of the development to get it ! 😦 oh noooo chocolate?! im out of PB which i obv didn’t plan good for the storm!

  7. Amanda @ .running with spoons. February 9, 2013 at 1:24 am #

    I’ve been craving donuts like CRAZY lately, and even though we’re not set to get hit by a storm up here, I still foresee some baking happening this weekend. As for dressing up, I definitely enjoy it sometimes, but I much prefer to hang out in comfier clothes for the most part!

    • kaityscooking February 9, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

      i know same here ! Baking weekends are really the best, I feel like I haven’t stopped yet, opps! Yeah comfy clothes are the best too ! I say I love dressing up but once I get to wear scrubs to work everyday I don’t think I will care that I dont dress up much lol

  8. Brittany February 9, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

    Ohhhh donuts! I am all about those right now haha. These look delicious!! I don’t dress up much anymore. I hate the time consumption, but once I am dressed up I like it..sometimes haha.

    • kaityscooking February 9, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

      I know between those donuts you posted and DD it was killing me I had to make donuts asap ! lol yesss that is true getting dressed up is the annoying part once your there its all good !

  9. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 9, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    These are so, so cute and I LOVE that they are vegan! I totally would never have guessed that you would use a ripe avocado for the filling. Very creative. I want to make/eat these now!

    • kaityscooking February 9, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

      yessss i LOVE making the avocado filling just for a snack with a banana itself so i had to try them in donuts ! the besttt :-)!

  10. moderngirlnutrition February 10, 2013 at 3:30 am #

    Love the filling recipe! So creative:) And that dress is so pretty

    • kaityscooking February 10, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

      its the bombb that filling I got so excited when I had so extra left over 🙂 thank youuu its a new fav dress that ill prob never wear again lol

  11. Carley @OptimisticHealth February 10, 2013 at 3:32 am #

    HAHA I laughed so hard seeing that alcohol buying chart! I think Arizona needs to get some snow asap. I want to be told to buy wine.

    Haha funny you say you’ll be on the couch with your homework because I definitely on a saturday night was just looking at endocrine power points. Pre-nursing at it’s finest.

    Those donuts are being made for sure. I have an avocado even!! Thanks for sharing!

    • kaityscooking February 10, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

      Lol I no right ! I am all out I need more wine asap. Ahhh endocrine a love/hate relationship with that chapter! I hated it but now would take that stuff over the crap I’m learning now any day !! No problem I hope you make/enjoy them !

  12. Miranda @ Biting Life February 17, 2013 at 4:47 am #

    Ohhhhh my gosh those donuts look amazing. I really need to make those like right now.

    • kaityscooking February 17, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

      thank you ! i know they were so good, def make them!

Leave a Reply

