Healthified Snickers

12 Feb

You win Nemo, you win.

Image

DD has opened, after my 5th call of the day they answered and I put on my layers and trekked up snowy hills in 30+inches snow #ineedalife

Image

Yeah 2 coffees, was needed.  On my walk it was going good trekking through a parking lot that has been plowed til I realized I had to climb these mounds of snow.  I was doing well all excited til I suck to my stomach.  Walking through it was a good ab workout though, knees to chest people.

Image

I did have some beers with my neighbors and the power authority guys whose trucks were stuck down the street. sup boyz

I ate my body weight in anything and everything with sugar this weekend. Mad pennies in the bashing jar.

I have to go back to school tomorrow yet still can’t drive out of my street. Anxiety at it’s finest. Instead of getting to school 2 hours early tomorrow now i’ll prob get there 3 hours early. UGH. #ineedfriends

Image

Valentines Day is Thursday I am sooo excited. Not really. But I love candy, sappy chick flicks and wine. Sounds like my Friday night but we’ll keep this to just VDay talk.

Image

I am suppose to hang out with a newly single girlfriend and I asked her what kind of candy she wanted.  She said peanut butter cups and snickers.  Snickers?! I haven’t had one in years and totally forgot about them.  I made it my goal to make them. As you can see I had a failure.

Image

This was just a okay looking failure the rest were just completely apart.  I would’ve just used a candy mold BUT nemo got in the way of me getting one so I had to improvise.

Ice cube trays. HOLLA

Image

Snickers Candy- Vegenized
1c coconut oil, melted
1/2c cocoa powder
1/4c maple syrup
1c dates
3Tbs maple syrup/agave nectar
2Tbs peanut butter
2Tbs coconut oil melted
1.5 tsp Vanilla
1c peanuts

Mix the coconut oil, cocoa powder and maple syrup in a bowl til well combined and set aside.  In a high speed blender or food processor combine the dates, pb, maple syrup/agave, coconut oil and vanilla til well blended.  Add in a tbs of water if it’s needed to get things moving! Chop up your peanuts in a blender of with a chopper just enough to get them all broken up.  Spray an icetray very well.  Put atleast a tsp of the chocolate in each hole then go back and with a brush (or your finger yum) spread some more chocolate on the sides of each of the molds til covered well.  Drop in 1-1.5 tsps of the peanuts into the mold.  Top with the date mixture then covered each mold completely with the rest of the chocolate.  Freeze for an hour.  Shuffle twist and turn the icetray then they will pop out (some you might have to go over with a knife). Keep in a sealed container in the freezer for best keeping! Makes 24 icecube tray sized candies.Image

I also made some coconut mounds and plain caramel.. Caramels were my FAV one growing up, i’d push each candy to see the inside just to find the caramels.

Image

btw dont bother trying to cut these in half, they make for horrible pics.

What makes me happy: getting out of the same pajamas i been wearing all weekend, dont judge. Even if it is to just go to school I just NEED OUT!

What are you doing for Valentines Day?

Favorite Candy? Least Fav? yuck i hate cinnamon hearts.

32 Responses to “Healthified Snickers”

  1. Running In Heels February 12, 2013 at 1:18 am #

    All of those chocolates look amazing!! I have some dates lying around so these might be a must!

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

      thank you, def should try them you wont be sorry !

  2. Alex @ therunwithin February 12, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    oh man I want you to make those mounds for me. I wish I had a friend to celebrate the holiday with, instead it will be me throwing a pity party of all sorts. bashing jar it is

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

      i would def make them, email your address. Dont no how pretty theyd be by the time they got there lol. I complain how I dont do much for vday but when I did have bfs and would go out I hated it, to packed and annoying. Lose/lose

  3. quartercenturysouthernliving February 12, 2013 at 2:01 am #

    Ughhhk, cinnamon hearts, not so much! But these chocolates look SO good!! Glad you got your DDs girl 🙂 We probably won’t do much for Valentine’s Day, but it’s always fun to have a holiday mid week!!

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

      Def having a holiday midwk is the best! hopefully you guys enjoy it. Yeah cinnamon hearts are a total no-go

  4. Brittany February 12, 2013 at 2:09 am #

    My boyfrann loveeees Snickers, and sometimes has a vegan vacation when he needs one! HA! I should make him these so he stops sneaking the real deal! They look SO good. I am so glad DD was open for you, and I couldn’t help but laugh picturing you trekking there. I would have done it too.

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

      Yess deff, I have made them for snicker loving guys and they approved, which was a HUGE surprise. Haha oh man me walking there was hilarious I wanted to take a vid but would have def lost my phone in the mountain of snow.

  5. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 12, 2013 at 2:14 am #

    OMGosh these look so, so good! And I love that they are vegan. I have not had a Snickers in forever, but this healthified version sure has me tempted :).

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

      Right, and I swear they taste like snickers. A healthified version ofcoarse but sooo good.

  6. princessmaddysun February 12, 2013 at 3:20 am #

    Those snickers look amazing and easy to make. Besides, only thing better than a snickers bar is a frozen one!

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      Your right I use to loveeeee the frozen snicker bars. Everytime me and my friends would go get icecream down the street they are all getting toasted almonds and stuff. No i get a snickers bar. so good

  7. SAMANTHA February 12, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    All of those candies you made sound amazing! I might have to try making the mounds…i love me some coconut!

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

      Thank you. Yeah seriously the mounds are a fav of mine i make them weekly. More coconut the better to me!

  8. Luv What You Do February 12, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    I never thought I’d see healthy and snickers together but you totally pulled it off!
    Hope you are starting to thaw out! I always liked Swedish Fish and tootsie rolls and now I love those mini Milky Way Midnights….I hate those buckeye things with the white center. I always used to give them to by bro on Halloween!

    • kaityscooking February 16, 2013 at 11:51 am #

      I use to be obsessssssed with swedish fish ! only thing i’d get at the movies lol those milky way midnights are so good ! my mom is obsessed and always has a stash somewhere. I no the buckeyes your talking about i never tried them actually, they always were scary looking to me haha

  9. Courtney @ Star Systemz February 12, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    OMG! My mouth is watering, veganized snickers! Kaity you have done it again! I can’t wait to try these once my mouth heals. You are such a sweet friend 🙂 Love + Shine CourtStar

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

      Thank you Courtney! Yesss you def gotta give them a go once your able to chew ! I hope your feeling better!

  10. optimistichealth February 12, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

    That looks glorious! That sounds like a great Valentines day to me!

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

      Def a good vday for me ! and thank you :-)!

  11. optimistichealth February 12, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

    That looks glorious! That sounds like a great Valentines day to me!

  12. aftertheivyleague February 12, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

    Yum homemade candy!! Looks so good. And yes Nemo screwed me over too this weekend…housebound for a couple days but also bonded with the neighbors over the never ending snow shoveling!

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

      thank you, ouch nemo sucks. Hopefully you got in some relaxing time cooped up inside, esp after vegas is needed!

  13. Natalie February 13, 2013 at 1:30 am #

    COCONUT MOUNDS! I need those right now. God I love coconut 🙂 My least fave candy is probably EATMORE, its so gross.

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

      I know they are soo good. Ew I no I don’t like eatmore at alllllll ! and its even got peanuts and I still dont like it which is so not like me

  14. moderngirlnutrition February 13, 2013 at 3:45 am #

    You are genius Kaity! Love this!

  15. Fitcupcaker February 13, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    I can’t wait for Easter candy!! Lol. I don’t know off the top of my head if there is a candy I don’t like. I like chocolate better than the sugary sweet tart candies though.

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

      Ahh easter candy is the best!! I use to like every kind of candy now moving towards just chocolate, so much better!

  16. jessiebear February 13, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    omg it’s too funny what you go through to get DD!! hahahahaha. Also, I love that “let’s be friends” pic. I FEEL YA!

    • kaityscooking February 13, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

      hahah i nooo i texts my friends and am like denied again, noone wants to be my friend! I know I got stir crazy and would do nethin for some DD!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I Ate On the Weekend « kaitys cooking - February 13, 2013

    […] Snickers and Coconut Mounds […]

Leave a Reply

