Cinnamon Roll Cookies

22 Feb

Yayy for it being Friday. I don’t know about you but this week has dragged for me.  I didn’t sleep at all Wednesday night either. Maybe because I had a gallon of coffee during the day, or just had my test the next day, but I was just sitting in bed all night til I finally decided to get up and study at 4 am.  I had my date with A last night.  I don’t know what to think of it to tell you the truth.  He’s such a sweetheart and everything but since he’s so shy and then I was just straight up awkward I don’t know how to really judge it.  I think I am the type who has to say and do some weird stuff right off the bat so he knows my personality but I was to chicken to do any of that last night.  Maybe next time if I decide to go out again I need to go to a better place, love the movies but can’t really talk much.. Or I need a few glasses of wine in me so I can let loose 😉

Image

Onto food, I made these delicious cookies when I was on my little baking spree and they instantly became a new favorite.  They really taste like a cinnamon roll in cookie form.  Cookie form, they are not these so don’t expect that lol.

Image

Cinnamon Roll Cookies
1/4 cup ground flax (with 1/4 cup water)*
1/4 cup almonds
1.5 cups of date
1 tbs cinnamon
¼ cup butter**
2 tbs raw sugar (i used stevia and i liked it better)
2 cups oats

Icing
2 tbs vanilla protein powder
1 tbs almond milk
stevia to taste***
Preheat oven to 400. Mix the ground flax with the water and set aside to thicken up.  Place the almonds in a food processor or high speed blender until a flour consistency.  Add the rest of the ingredients and blend well.  Place in little balls on a baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes or until bottom is golden. Remove and let cool completely.  Mix the ingredients together for the frosting and swirl it around on the cookies. (I put the icing in a ziploc and cut of the zip and swirled it on.) Makes 20 cookies.

*instead of the flax egg you can use 1/2 cup eggs as a substitute.
**i have tried coconut oil in place of the butter and it’s good but doesn’t give it as a cinnamon bun taste. Def good though!
***i used a few drops of stevia but you can use powdered sugar just add more milk.

Image

Enjoy!

I am off to the gym.  Okay I lied I want to go to the gym but I am still in my pajamas and my bed couch is looking comfy.  Yesterday I went to the gym after class and knew I shouldn’t have because I was just tired I ran for 10 minutes and maybe did 5 bicep curls and gave up.  lol

What makes me happy: mexican night tonight, yumyum so excited!

What are you up to this weekend?

Who else pulled all nighters and took days to get back to feeling normal? Hate it!

39 Responses to “Cinnamon Roll Cookies”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin February 22, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    holy drool. they look beautiful too

    • kaityscooking February 22, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

      Lol thank you ! I no they look like I put alot of work in it too

    • kaityscooking February 22, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

      Lol thank you ! I no they look like I put alot of work in it too 😉

  2. quartercenturysouthernliving February 22, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    These are so cute and look really good! I laughed out loud reading this “Okay I lied I want to go to the gym but I am still in my pajamas and my bed couch is looking comfy.” I have so been there!

    • kaityscooking February 22, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

      Hahah right I feel I’m saying that more and more lately, oh well 🙂

  3. aftertheivyleague February 22, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

    First dates are always a tad awkward, especially going to a movie! Drinks at a laid-back bar was always my favorite first date spot. After a glass of wine or two, everyone gets a little more fun and interesting! haha

    • kaityscooking February 22, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

      Hahah it’s so true ! He barely drinks so I tried to go with something more quiet but that def don’t work for me lol

  4. Kerry @ Totes My Oats February 22, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    Those cookies look freaking amazing!!! I need them now!

    • kaityscooking February 24, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

      thank you i know they really are so good and addictive

  5. Carley @OptimisticHealth February 23, 2013 at 12:01 am #

    Haha had more than my fair share of those type of dates. I’m a huge talker and extrovert too so I totally know the feeling 🙂

    This weekend we are in Minnesota with our family and friends and heading back Sunday. I think we are going to an event tonight with some people out on the lake involving drinks and food. Who knows haha?! These Minnesotans are no joke.

    I’ve totally had weeks/days like that with school and I know there will be a few in the coming months. I just keep telling myself “SPRING BREAK”. So close!! Have a good weekend!

    • kaityscooking February 28, 2013 at 12:35 am #

      haha right! i felt i was gonna talk the guys ear off and i was barely doing it! Ahh minnesota on a lake with drinks sounds amazing! I know, countdown for springbreak has been started!!!

  6. Luv What You Do February 23, 2013 at 3:14 am #

    Ohhh! These look so fun and tasty! I just picked up some dates at TJ’s tonight.

    • kaityscooking February 24, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

      Thank you, I always get my dates at TJ’s.. the best

  7. moderngirlnutrition February 23, 2013 at 4:44 am #

    You made these so pretty, too!:)

  8. The Sketched Chef February 23, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    Amazing. Just amazing !!

  9. Jess @ JessieBearWhatWillYouWear February 23, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    yum yum yum I’ve been waiting for this recipeeee! And I LOVE that first pic ahhahaha

  10. Brittany February 23, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    I am the same way when it comes to meeting new people (guys) when I am goofy right away to make sure they can handle it. My main squeeze can handle it and then some! He’s goofy too..match made in heaven.

    • kaityscooking February 24, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

      lol yessss i got to do some weird stuff right off the bat to see if they could handle it.. so funny.. you guys def are match made and so cute!

  11. princessmaddysun February 23, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    Are these cookies legal?! They look delicious and so easy to make. Nom nom nom

    • kaityscooking February 24, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

      i noooo and they are so guiltfree its awesome!

  12. Natalie February 23, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    Those are some cute cookies and easy to make too! It was super hard for me to get up and go to the gym today but I did it, now I can pig out tonight 😛

    • kaityscooking February 24, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

      haha i nooo when i go on days that i didnt want to i feel i deserve the biggest reward lol

  13. Courtney @ Star Systemz February 24, 2013 at 5:25 am #

    Another hit recipe :-). I have to try these I have been on a cinnamon kick lately 🙂 we all have those days where sleep is not in the agenda this week my dogs were sick barfing everywhere and my husband had a business trip where hen left at 5 am so that meant no sleep for me either! Sending you sweet dreams! Sharing your quinoa recipe on my blog tomorrow :-). Love + Shine Courtstar

    • kaityscooking February 24, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

      i ammm on such a cinnamon kick too ! ohhh no, i feel so bad when my dogs sick i follow him around the house and baby him so much. i hope hes feeling better! and thank you !

  14. Jen @ Existential Evolution February 24, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

    Kaity these look freaking awesome! Oh I can’t wait to try these ~ it may be a first that I make a cookie without chocolate!!!

    • kaityscooking February 24, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

      thank you and hahah i nooo! i have noticed i neverrrrrr have cookies without chocolate or an add-in chocolate option in them!

  15. Becky @ Olives n Wine February 24, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    These look AMAZING! I attempted to make cinnamon roll pancakes on Saturday morning and they turned out waaaayyyy too sugary – I am going to have to give these a try to fulfill my cinnamon craving 🙂

    • kaityscooking February 24, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

      lol yesss these will def fulfill your cinnamon craving! i noooo i tried cinnamon roll pancakes before and they are the sweetest things ever! really good, but way to sweet for breakfast lol

  16. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 25, 2013 at 12:27 am #

    These cookies are just WAY too cute! Not too cute to eat, of course! 😉

    • kaityscooking February 25, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

      Haha I nooo I always feel bad eating cute desserts these r way to good to pass up tho

  17. Ashlee February 25, 2013 at 1:21 am #

    Those cookies sound awesome!!
    love the swirl on top 🙂

  18. Ashlee February 25, 2013 at 1:23 am #

    Those cookies sound awesome! Love the swirl on top 🙂

  19. Brittany @ DulceVie February 25, 2013 at 2:23 am #

    These look sooooooo good! I love how healthy they are for being cookies!

    • kaityscooking February 25, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

      I nooo and they don’t taste too healthy which is a plus

  20. gratissex March 1, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    You have a cool website over here. I just wanna say thanks for all the interesting information on it. I’ll follow your blog if you keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

