What I ate Wednesday

20 Mar

Score for it being Wednesday!  Only one more day of classes til my Spring Break!  I for once am not going on vacation so I am excited to just relax!  Thank you Jenn for hosting!

Breakfast

I been feeling so crappy and taking shots of Nyquil at 8pm to get some good sleep.  Yet today woke up and it was one of those days I just had no appetite and had to force food down all day.  I tried to keep it simple though.  I started it with some savory oats.  So good.

Image

Savory Oats

2 large leaves of kale (about 2 cups)
coconut oil
1/2 cup oats
1.5 cups water
1.5 tbs nutritional yeast
1 egg
1 egg white

In a pan melt enough coconut oil to cover the pan then place the washed and torn up kale in it and cover the pan.  Let it steam for about 5 minutes (keep checking that it doesn’t burn and stick to the pan.  Add some water to prevent this).  Once down place the kale in a bowl.  Now place oats in a pot with water and cook according to directions.  Stir in the nutritional yeast then place cooked oats on the kale.  While that’s cooking cook an egg and egg white and place on the oats once cooked.  Enjoy!

Lunch

I bought to green smoothies and was planning to just stop home for lunch.  Instead I skipped my 2nd class because I felt so crap, yet went out to lunch with my friend instead.  I just got a salad with a massive amount of hummus and grape leaves, the best!

Image

Image

Snacks

I made it to the gym after lunch though for a quick back/bicep workout.  Afterwards I had another ugly banana protein muffin.

Image

Dinner

I was not in the mood for ANYTHING.  I just wanted to sleep.  Nothing sounded appetizing but I know I had to shove something down.  So more oatmeal it was.  This time I mixed in a scoop of chocolate protein powder and 2 tbs of almond butter.  Simple and yummmmy.

Image

I know, I use the same bowl alot.

No snack for me at night, NyQuil was chugged and I past out. 

What makes me happy: sleep, which I am going to get more of right now.

Image

What is your least favorite body part of workout?

Anyone have some secret remedies for treating a cold?! I have a whole lot of nothing to do this vacation and don’t want to be sick for it all 😉

 

25 Responses to “What I ate Wednesday”

  1. Kerry @ Totes My Oats March 20, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

    I don’t think I hate working out any body part but I definitely hate working out at all when the gym is crowded. I hate working out in front of an audience! I want that salad right now!

    • kaityscooking March 20, 2013 at 11:34 pm #

      ughhh me too! I cant stand when its a weaker part of my body and I am having trouble with 2lb dumbells and am surrounded by all these people.. worst! Salad was so good i dont no how far stonybrook is from you but its jake starr cafe, so good there food!

  2. Erin March 20, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    I hate running in front of people! I get so self conscious! And oh my gosh I just spent 10 minutes trying to figure out how to spell conscious haha
    And I’ve never eaten savory oats before!

    • kaityscooking March 20, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

      i agree i just finally got over it and started to run infront of people at the gym, but only some.. if there is a cute guy i am trying to impress i def for sure am not running! lol hahahah you sound like me i take forever with some words too thats too funny… they are very good actually i avoided them for so long bc i was so use to sweeter oats but now i cant get enough of these!

  3. Amanda @ .running with spoons. March 20, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    Oatmeal with nut butter is definitely one of those magic foods that always manages to go down no matter how crappy we’re feeling. Get better soon! My go-to cold cures are rest, liquids, vitamin C, and ice cream 😉

    • kaityscooking March 20, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

      Yesss that oatmeal was perfect! Hahah so true when I was whining like a baby to my mom I said pleaseee get me ice cream.. So necessary, thank you !

  4. Alex @ therunwithin March 21, 2013 at 12:15 am #

    I am the same way when I am sick, nothing sounds appealing. Usually I do a lot of smoothies or milkshakes, to get my calories through drinking.

    • kaityscooking March 21, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

      Ahhh yes that’s what I’ve been forcing down… Maddd milkshakes

  5. jessiebearwhat March 21, 2013 at 12:29 am #

    aww hope you feel better soon! That’s rough

  6. quartercenturysouthernliving March 21, 2013 at 12:32 am #

    Haha, this E Card is my life. I wish you could see my right now. Everything about what I am wearing is ridiculous. I won’t even get started on what my hair looks like. I hope you feel better soon!!

    • kaityscooking March 22, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      hahah i no right! esp in the winter im the worse! thank you!

  7. Luv What You Do March 21, 2013 at 2:03 am #

    I change into my unmatched PJ’s the second I walk in the door!
    I love your idea to premake your green smoothies. I never do that and need to because I love the smoothies!

    • kaityscooking March 22, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

      Hahah right I throw on whatever pjs I find too! Yeah it’s so much easier just dtr it up and your good

  8. Running In Heels March 21, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    Love the idea of premaking the smoothies! So convenient!

    • kaityscooking March 22, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      it def is, just stir it before you have it and your good!

  9. Brittany March 21, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    I use the same bowl for almost everything I eat. It’s my favorite bowl HAHA. I am always cleaning it.

    • kaityscooking March 22, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      lol right it’s like the perfect size one for everything so why not !

  10. Natalie March 22, 2013 at 2:27 am #

    I bet that ugly banana protein muffin tasted good though lol

    • kaityscooking March 22, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

      lol it doess! the ugliest foods usually are the best

  11. Court Star @ StarSystemz March 22, 2013 at 4:57 am #

    I use the same bowl all day as well as the same mason jar for water + smoothies why waste dishes? Your food looks delicious 🙂 Cold rememedies: up that vitamin C and Kosher Matzo Ball Soup always does the trick! Love + Shine CourtStar

    • kaityscooking March 22, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

      hahah i nooo its so true, all the same mason jars and bowl always getting used. Yeah i just picked up some vitamin c drops and yhummm matzo ball soup!! that sounds so freakin good def gotta try that, thanks girl!

  12. olivesanwine March 22, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Get LOTS of sleep, drink lots of OJ and water and eat what you’re craving 🙂 Hopefully you feel better for your spring break!!

  13. houdekj March 25, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    I love that cartoon at the end ~ that is so me!!! I’ve never tried savory oats but they look enticing! Hope you’re feeling better!

    • kaityscooking March 26, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

      Thank you! I knowww savory oats always freaked me out but once you try them they are soo addicting!

Leave a Reply

