Phase 1- Livefit

22 Mar

Woooo Spring Break finally!  I am so looking forward to not doing anything.  I do have plans to have a harry potter marathon and eat donuts for one whole day.  I am such a party animal.  But other exciting news, I finished phase one of LiveFit today and followed the workouts to a tee.  Yes I did no cardio for 4 wks.  I deserve a freaking medal, or a donut. 

Since I suck at life I don’t really have before/after pictures because honestly, I know I’d beat myself up over it.  Wasn’t going down that road.  Plus because I am not really doing this for looks, I really want to be a hulk and be able to lift man weights at the gym.  Ok not exactly, but I do want some serious muscle because with all my running I have done over the year I seem to have lost a good amount of muscle.  Also, doing the spartan race and the survival race (anyone in NY wanna do this with me?!) I want to be able to beast through the obstacles so.  Since I haven’t taken pictures, I have been writing down the weights I do.  Which I love has drastically changed since my first day joining the gym and dieing doing 2lb curls.

The first 2 weeks are workouts split over 4 days.  This was very hard because I can easily go to the gym daily because its “my time” sort of thing.  BUTTTT i didn’t.  Okay some Saturday mornings I would go for about a half hour and just do an ab workout, but that’s it!

Week 1 & 2

This is the muscle-endurance phase.  The goal is to prepare your muscles for a strength-training program that will also promote muscle growth.  During these first two weeks you do 3 sets of 12 repetitions per exercise, resting 60 seconds (give or take) in between each set.  These are both amounts of weight I did in week 1 then 2.

Legs
leg extensions 80lbs-80lbs
leg press 130lbs-130lbs
wide stance squat 40lbs-50lbs
seated leg curl 50lbs-60lbs
stiff leg deadlift 40lbs-50lbs
standing calf raises 90lbs-90lbs

Chest/Triceps
Wide Pushups
Dumbbell bench press 40lb-50lb
Cable Flies 20lb-20lb
Narrow Pushup
Standing dumbbell tricep extension 12.5lb-15lb
Tricep Pushdown 40lb-40lb

Back/Biceps
Wide grip lat pull down 40lb-40lb
One-arm dumbbell row 15lb-15lb
Seated cable row 65lb-70lb
Underhand cable pulldown 30lb-30lb
Dumbbell alternate bicep curl 10lb-10lb
One arm dumbbell preacher curl 8lb-8lb
Standing biceps cable curl 20lb-25lbs

Shoulder/Abs
Seated dumbbell press 30lb (55lb on machine)-30lb
Standing dumbbell T raise 15lb-15lb
Side Lateral Raise 10lb-10lb
Exercise ball crunch 20lb-20lb
Bicycle crunch

A lot of these exercises as you could see I wasn’t changing the weight the next week because I really just couldn’t.  That’s okay though, my perfectionist self isn’t coming out in this workout if I can’t do something I won’t force it.  (big step for me!)  I was hurting from these workouts.  A good hurt of coarse, but def hurting.  I was in and out of the gym in 35 minutes which again, a big change for me as I could run on the treadmill for 2 hours if I wanted to.  This meant I had more time to hang out with friends, go shopping, blog, sleep, study!

Week 3 & 4

Weeks 3 and 4 marks the first workouts of the muscle-building portion.  This time you are really pushing yourself.  You now workout 5 days, one day now doing whichever body part you choose to do 2x a week.  I chose legs.  Also you are now doing 3 sets of 10 reps. So my leg portion will have 4 sets of weight for 2 of each week. 

Legs
leg extensions 85lb/90lb-95lb/110lb
leg press 150lb/155lb-175lb/180lb
wide stance squat 45lb/45lb-50lb/55lb
seated leg curl 65lb/65lb-70lb-75lbs
walking lunge 40lb/40lbs-50lb/50lbs
single leg deadlift 25lb/25lb-35lb/35lb
standing calf raises 110lb/130lb-210lb-230lb

Chest/Triceps
Wide Pushups
Dumbbell bench press 50lb-55lb
Flat bench flies 25lb-30lb
Decline flies 20lb-25lb
Standing dumbbell tricep extension 12.5lb-15lb
Tricep kickback 12.5lb-15lb
Bench dips
Tricep cables 30lb-50lb
Skull crushers 20lb-30lb

Back/Biceps
Wide grip lat pull down 45lb-50lb
Hammer lat pull down 40lb-50lb
Narrow grip row 75lb-85lb
Back extensions
Bent over barbell row 40lb-50lb
Dumbbell alternate hammer curl 12.5lb-15lb
Incline dumbbell curl 20lb-30lb
Standing barbell curl 20lb-30lbs

Shoulder/Abs
Seated dumbell press 30lb-20lb
Dumbbell front raise 25lb-30lb
Arnold press 20lb-25lb
Bent over rear delt raise 15lb-25lb
Side Lateral Raise 10lb-7.5lb
Crunch
Roman chair crunches
Oblique crunches

I want to say because as I was writing these I got all confused.  If it says something like “seated dumbbell press 30lb” I did 15lb dumbbells in each hand.  Not that hulk(y) yet!  This portion was a little bit longer in the gym but for the most part a lot of the same exercises.  I did however add a few leg ones and take a couple out because I just can’t use those machines lol.

Overall, I am loving this program.  I wanted to weigh myself at one point but then realized I am not ready for that yet.  Plus, I didn’t see the reason to after that initial thought.  I see a lot of definition coming back though.  My clothes, I don’t know.  Some days they fit tighter other days they don’t.  My butt however which is already big, is getting ginormous looking.  I don’t think it’s a bad thing though, just from behind I look like a wide load coming through haha.  Although I miss cardio, I have really liked my workouts being so short.  This next phase is the “leaning out” phase.  Thirty minutes of moderate cardio is added back in.  Maybe with the weather getting somewhat nicer I will run to and from the gym.  Gas is getting too expensive for my broke ass.  Wish me luck in next phase, this crazy lady thinks I am doing 30 pullups next week?! This should be interesting!

What makes me happy: DD trips with the kids, I am mature and tell them to make faces to people when they walk in.  Plus I wanted to finish my coffee so I had to keep them busy for a little 😉Image

Have you ever done any weight lifting programs? Livefit?

Has strength training really helped anyone with their running/cardio?

Other news, What are you up to this weekend?

16 Responses to “Phase 1- Livefit”

  1. Natalie March 22, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    Never tried that program but it does sound good. I really need to look into something like this because my muscles SUCK. I only do cardio really and I’d like to get into weight lifting so I can get some toning going on. Its all very new to me though!

    • kaityscooking March 22, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

      Trust me I was new to weight lifting years ago but not like this program! Def try it out this program is great for beginners like myself !

  2. quartercenturysouthernliving March 22, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    Wow, that sounds like a legit program!! You go girl 🙂 So awesome that you are doing it! There is a Dunkin Donuts that is about to open in our neighborhood! Holllllla 🙂

    • kaityscooking March 26, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      It really is I love it! Ahhhhhh that’s awesome your gonna be makig daily field trips there like me! Since I walk there though I feel it’s okay I do it daily lol

  3. Erin March 22, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

    Get it girl! And I have been doing a lot of strength training lately and when I ran the other day, I could tell a major difference! Not sure if it’s all in my head or what but I feel like my endurance has improved

    • kaityscooking March 26, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

      Thanks girl and that’s awesome ! I def felt a bit of a difference in getting back into cardio, thank god because I’d avoid doing it if it was hard lol

  4. Luv What You Do March 23, 2013 at 12:43 am #

    Way to go! That is one intense workout! I love having a plan to follow because I actually stick to it and feel so accomplished when I do. Keep up the good work and thanks for sharing…I am always so interested in new workout ideas!

    • kaityscooking March 26, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      Yeah def try it ! I never liked sticking to plans because I just don’t stick to it much that’s y I avoided trying this workout for awhile.. Now I don’t think ill ever be able to do a workout without a plan!

  5. Brittany @ DulceVie March 24, 2013 at 1:15 am #

    I have never tried a weight lifting program! I love the pic of the kids though, so cute 🙂

  6. Courtney @ Star Systemz March 24, 2013 at 6:54 am #

    You go girl! That is some serious weight lifting! I am just getting back to the gym since my surgery last month so I have some catching up to do! I will check out the program sounds like a great one :-). Happy weight lifting Love + shine Courtstar

    • kaityscooking March 26, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

      Thank you! Yayyy that’s good def hard getting back in there but you’ll be bak to normal Before you know it!

  7. Brittany March 24, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    I don’t do much strength work, thought I continuously say I need to! HA you are awesome for doing this and sticking with it. Ohhh a donut sounds so amazing right now..I would shank someone for one.

    • kaityscooking March 26, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

      All I could think about lately is donuts and cupcakes my gods! I know I can’t ever stick to a lifting program bc I just never want to and now I don’t think ill ever live without it !

  8. houdekj March 25, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    You are a warrioress for doing the Livefit program! Congrats!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Randomness Tuesday | kaitys cooking - March 26, 2013

    […] Also had some all you can eat sushi since you know, I got through phase 1 of livefit ofcoarse.. […]

Leave a Reply

