Guilty Feelings

13 Jun

Hey my blogger friends, hows everyone doing?  Today me and my cousin went to a park not far from us and hiked the trail (about 8 miles) and canoed for about an hour.  And by canoed I mean we followed turtles and frogs around just trying to catch them, i’ll never grow up.  I was suppose to meet my friends at the bar tonight but I am literally ready for bed!

So each Wednesday I post my eats from the day before, often pretty balanced and healthy for the most part.  But I am human and lately have more days then not of eating junk and sometimes get those guilty feelings and thoughts of punishing myself for doing so.  I have come along way in my recovery but still have those binges here and there.  I think with drinking more those binges are getting worse and more frequent.  There are more days though of me eating my cake and not caring, but having that cake 3-5 days in a row on top of eating other junk, those feelings kick in.  I loved doing my smoothie detox because I was eating/drinking foods I normally eat, but I can’t do that weekly, that’s no fun!  I like my sushi dates!

I feel if I eat junk one day, it’s a lot harder to wake up and not reach for the muffins and danishes instead of the eggs and oatmeal (am I right?!?)  Years ago, it use to be so easy because I’d punish myself, now I mostly go with it.  I ate like a beast, i’ll try and eat better tomorrow.  I don’t go run 10 miles and work out to burn each and every calorie I had ate the day before.  I can’t do that anymore but I still sometimes have those guilty feelings of “why did I eat that?”.

This Wednesday is a different WIAW.  Mainly because I didn’t take pictures of what I ate yesterday, it was all over.  Ice cream cake, pizza, muffins, Chinese food, cereal, bagels, etc.

Like I said I know I have come along way, and am human and may never get past those guilty feelings 100%.  I have got it through my head that if I eat like that I am not going to blow up like a balloon.  But still have it in my head that I am not my best if I eat right.  You know? This was more of a venting post I know.  Sorry guys!

Do you get those guilty feelings after eating junk more often then not?  How do you deal with them?

27 Responses to “Guilty Feelings”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin June 13, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    I think everyone deals with these feelings but just remember that our body adjusts to these changes in our diets. one day, one week even one month won’t make that big of a different. you are an overall healthy person and that is what matters. no food can define that

  2. pickyrunner June 13, 2013 at 12:39 am #

    I’m the same way these days. One day of lots of junk, fine, but after awhile it does take it’s toll and its harder to get back on track. Youre definitely not alone in those feelings! But it’s a huge step that you’re not trying to “make up for it” anymore!

    • kaityscooking June 14, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

      thanks girl! yeah too many years of wasting a whole day just making up for eating to much the night before, no fun!

  3. genext13 June 13, 2013 at 1:14 am #

    Excellent post! There is no place for guilt when it comes to self control. Research shows that those who are hard on themselves with respect to this type of thing are more likely to go back to old patterns than those that look at slips as part of the process and move on. And by more likely, I mean 70-80% more likely. That is incredibly significant. You have a healthy outlook!

  4. genext13 June 13, 2013 at 1:15 am #

    Another way of looking at it is planning to fail and accepting that slips are not an excuse to stop your plan. You are awesome!

    • kaityscooking June 14, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

      thank you ! It is so true and your so right it’s a cycle until you accept it and move on. I did well for so long to but old habits die hard, thank you though!

  5. Luv What You Do June 13, 2013 at 2:15 am #

    I loved reading your honest thoughts. I struggle too because when I start eating crap then I just want more and more unhealthy food BUT I don’t want to be the girl who NEVER eats something sweet and tasty. It’s such a tough balance! I try to move on by starting each day a new and writing myself a little reminder about why I choose to eat healthy on my blog or food journal.

    BTW, that hike sounds great! I’d much rather see pics of you trying to catch frogs than food any day : )

    • kaityscooking June 14, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

      Yeah I completely relate. I agree, it’s why I started my blog mostly to vent about the problems but see how much progress I am making.

  6. Running In Heels June 13, 2013 at 2:22 am #

    I love your honesty!! It’s a great step that you don’t feel the need to go burn it all off anymore! Little victories 🙂

  7. Amanda @ .running with spoons. June 13, 2013 at 3:16 am #

    I feel like those guilty feelings are unavoidable – I’m pretty sure that almost everyone gets hit with those “man… maybe I shouldn’t have done that” vibes, but the most important thing is how you deal with them. If you’re beating yourself up whenever it happens, then I’m pretty sure you’re just perpetuating the cycle. But if you forgive yourself and let it go? It becomes much easier to make positive changes. I know that’s easier said than done, but you’ve already come a long way and it’ll only continue to get better 🙂

    • kaityscooking June 14, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

      THanks girl, def takes baby steps and i completely agree. I can preach it all I want but sometimes it def is easier said then done lol

  8. jessiebearwhat June 13, 2013 at 4:03 am #

    I TOTALLY understand. I struggle with binging all the time and I definnniitely think drinking makes it worse… but that’s not something I’m willing to cut out, so it’s all about balance!

    • kaityscooking June 14, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

      agree, i say it each hangover but i will never cut out my drinkin lol

  9. Giardino degli Ulivi June 13, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

    Honestly I don’t have guilty feelings no more, maybe if I have them I don’t care about that. I simply forgive myself and try to change some bad habits in my diet.

    Sometimes life can be simple, it’s all in our mind. 🙂

    italiancookingholiday.blogspot.com

    • kaityscooking June 14, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

      I am happy to hear you don’t and wouldnt wish it on anyone! You are so right, all in our mind

  10. Brittany June 13, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    I for sure get these feelings. I try to stay away from consistent days of eating junk because I know mentally it will mess me up. Sometimes I still fall into the pit though! I try to just dust myself off and think about healthier (but still just as tasty) eats that I can have and know that it will take a day or two to get the junk out!

    • kaityscooking June 14, 2013 at 11:38 pm #

      Yeah I def no what you mean, I gotta start the day right. If i have a good breakfast after few days of too many cupcakes I am fine the rest of the day and it’s a clean slate but still that one meal is like a makeor break for another crappy day or not lol

  11. coffeencollege June 13, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    I definitely get those feelings. I think “intense workout tomorrow” in my head and don’t enjoy the splurge as much as I know I should.
    Drinking for me = lots of liquid calories and greasy crap food so I totally understand. However, we’re only young once and everything in moderation! 😉

    • kaityscooking June 14, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

      Thanks girl I agree, I will have those days when I am older and never going to wanna drink so better live them up now lol

  12. optimistichealth June 13, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    Way to be transparent. Life isn’t about kcals in and out so that’s huge you are okay with not having to run ten miles. Don’t let guilt get to you because it’s an emotion that serves no purpose but to drag us down. It’s easy to do but it’s guilt that tends to pull us down further instead of conviction or ambition which propels us forward to want better.

    • kaityscooking June 14, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

      thank youuu girl! you said everything so head on and right thank you totally made me feel better

  13. Courtney @ Star Systemz June 16, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Wow such honesty! The great thing about writing about your feelings is it helps you sort though them, this is why I love the blogging community so much plus the support! Don’t let guilt get found own doll face get back on the horse and get riding! You are a strong gal, we all have our setbacks but that does not mean we can’t get back up! Sending you strength and love this weekend love + shine Courtstar

    • kaityscooking June 19, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

      It is sooo true. Once you write it out there it make you see it so much differently then all the support is just great. Thank you girl I know just a minor speedbump

  14. Dee June 18, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

    Oh Kaity, you are too hard on yourself (delurker here 🙂
    I’m struggling a lot..I’m 32 and I eat fully all day and night (by clock, not hunger) then late at night…I “binge”….and its too shameful to tell you HOW much and the KINDS of things…and the worse? I’m majorly chronically constipated and unable to exercise…so its not…getting out 😦 LOVE to chat with you if you are willing to email….I’m going to do a 2-day mini cleanse starting Friday….BUT I’ve Already blown the pre-cleanse diet….and u know what’s insane? I sit down to a GIANT supper meal (including meat, fats, starches, veggies, etc) and eat it in like 10 minutes flat cause my mind is so on high-speed…soo I don’t even chew or think about it and its heavy, heavy foods…and then be stuffed and its 8 pm….and yet at 10 pm (STILL stuffed and constipated) I’ll go and start a “binge”….ugh, its like I don’t even want to change and THAT = guilt. I think u are doing just fine….me on the other hand…well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TGIF | kaitys cooking - June 15, 2013

    […] totally dragged for me.  I am just so glad it’s done with!  After my meltdown in the last post, thank you all of you for your comments and emails.  It really was a eye opener and made me see […]

Leave a Reply

